Updated This week in the Slacktiverse, December 29/30

(posted by chris the cynic)

The Blogaround

TRiG wrote:

This week I’ve posted two slightly incoherent posts. The first, “Tidyup“, was about blog housekeeping, about being gay, about losing my religion, about spam, and also for some reason included two Tim Minchin songs. I don’t know how I managed to get all that in one post, but I did warn you it was incoherent. The second post, “Thoughts: Reading the Internet“, is somewhat more focussed. It’s about death. Well, sort of. It’s mainly about me being slightly morbid, but not particularly unhappy. It also includes some poetry. (And the content of the post turns out not to have much to do with the title, largely because it got away from me while I was writing it. It was supposed to be a post on one blog about my other blog, but it turned out as a post about being morbid instead. As I said, slightly incoherent.)

Catherine wrote:

Hi all,

Merry Festival Of Your Choice! I finished up work on Friday, which meant that over on Cate’s Cates, I’ve been doing last-minute Christmas baking – easy fruit mince for pies and lemon meringue tart kits for presents. I’ve also been making gorgeous hampers. And today I went to the cricket, which was a little depressing, because Sri Lanka wasn’t really doing very much except getting injured, but I did make a vegan feast for lunch.

Over on Cate Sings, I finished up my Advent Calendar with seasonally-inappropriate carols (http://catesings.org/advent-calendar-day-23-in-the-bleak-mid-winter-holst/), a modern Magnificat, and a mini carol service of Handel, Britten and Wilcocks, with references to other carols, good and bad. Today, I celebrated the end of carolling with Smoke Gets In Your Eyes (which, given all the incense I inhaled around Christmas, was seasonally appropriate in its own way.)

I hope everyone is having a relaxing, or at least non-stressful time!

Best wishes,

Catherine

chris the cynic wrote:

I’ve had a bad week, let’s get that out of the way first. I’ve run out of hope and thus am simple going on because I have nothing better to do. Which itself is nothing new, but it may be the first time that my lack of hope has foundations in rational thinking instead of depression. Windows pissed me off again. My family’s Christmas get together started well and then went to shit at the end, with the end ending up taking more time than the beginning and middle combined. I walked through a blizzard to meet someone because I couldn’t figure out how to find out if they’d cancelled the meeting on account of the blizzard, based on them not being there I guess that they did. Being away from the house meant that I was the last to get the news that my grandmother was dying. But no one expected it to be a quick kind of dying and we were pulling strings and rearranging appointments and swapping shifts and whatnot so we could all get together to see her the next day. Which turned out to be pointless because less than an hour after I got the news, she died. The ground is frozen, she’ll have to wait a while before any of the usual post-death rituals are done for her. And, finally, for the second time since I started going to university, I failed a class. In two weeks it could be two classes, and later on possibly four because I haven’t passed any of the classes I took this semester, it’s just that the ones I’ve not yet failed are on varying degrees of extension.

So, that’s the bad.

After we got the news that my grandmother died the silence was unbearable and had to be extinguished with something. As it turned out the movie The Living Daylights (the James Bond movie with the cello) did the trick and I wrote a post saying good things about that movie.

I asked some questions, like, “Is anyone up for a movie?” because if you’re interested in seeing the Hobbit in IMAX and you’re near me (I live in the greater Portland area of Southern Maine) we could seriously go together. There’s actually an attempt to do this thing as a group in the works, so New England Slacktivites, if you’re interested speak up; and “Fantasy Reconstruction, how does one do it?” because if entire races have been presided over by the Dark Lord and have a pillage and eat the humans based economy, how do you integrate them with the rest of society after the Dark Lord is overthrown?; and “Did they do this?” with respect to the Doctor Who episode Blink. It looks like they didn’t, which was what I expected, but I maintain that they should have.

I wrote some fiction. Skewed Slightly to the Left: Rayford has some time to think, which is a relatively short piece about reacting to the persistent knowledge you’ve fucked up beyond words. Mr Nicolae Carpathia ate with relish the inner organs of beasts… which is basically seeing how much millage I can get out of taking the scene between Leopold Bloom and his cat and making it into one between Nicolae Carpathia and his by changing a few key words and phrases.

Mermaid story: A beginning – Remember that mermaid story I’ve been talking about for forever? This is the beginning.

What I want to happen in Newsrooms. The title is pretty self explanatory.

Three posts with pictures: It’s probably not actually Jesus’ birthday, It’s a white Christmas, and Playing with a picture (of a tree).

One post on Collective bargaining, staying competitive, and cross company solidarity.

And finally, for the sheer absurdity of it, I published all of the spam a post that consists of almost nothing but me posting my spam (with the actual spam links removed) has gained. And (see the comments) realized I didn’t even notice the amount of Cyrillic in it.

*looks at giant wall of text* Good god, I’ve made the weekend post all about me, haven’t I?

This week froborr wrote:

I’ve got a new My Little Po-Mo up: Just make the whole thing, you know, cooler. (Fall Weather Friends)

I also started a Tumblr, mostly to share MLPo-Mo articles with the MLP community on there, but I’ve got two unrelated short pieces up as well, because they fell into length-limbo between Facebook and full-on blog posts:

On the Nonexistence of Monsters, my response to the responses I’ve seen to the Newtown/Sandy Hook shooting.

Fragment of a work in progress: Exactly what it says on the tin, a brief speech by one of the fey about creatures they predicted had to exist, but were still shocked to actually meet.

Last week froborr wrote:

As usual, my new My Little Po-Mo is out a matter of hours after the Blogaround. My own fault for setting midnight Sunday as my weekly deadline.

Anyway, just like last week, this week’s post is my best to date. I think that means I get to declare myself to be on a roll. Friendship Is Alchemy continues with albedo phase, a time of purification, returning to innocence, and blank flanks: Those ponies over there are watchin’ me! (Call of the Cutie)

–Co-authored by the Slacktiverse Community

3 thoughts on “Updated This week in the Slacktiverse, December 29/30

  1. froborr December 29, 2012 at 11:18 pm

    I’ve got a new My Little Po-Mo up: Just make the whole thing, you know, cooler. (Fall Weather Friends)

    I also started a Tumblr, mostly to share MLPo-Mo articles with the MLP community on there, but I’ve got two unrelated short pieces up as well, because they fell into length-limbo between Facebook and full-on blog posts:

    On the Nonexistence of Monsters, my response to the responses I’ve seen to the Newtown/Sandy Hook shooting.

    Fragment of a work in progress: Exactly what it says on the tin, a brief speech by one of the fey about creatures they predicted had to exist, but were still shocked to actually meet.

  2. Steve Morrison December 30, 2012 at 10:44 am

    Chris, the “based on them not being there I guess that they did” link doesn’t work.

  3. chris the cynic December 30, 2012 at 11:14 am

    @Steve, thanks for the catch. Should work now. Failing that, this should take you there

Leave a Reply

