Open Thread: Good News

(by chris the cynic)

What’s some good news you’ve heard?

8 thoughts on “Open Thread: Good News

  1. froborr July 3, 2013 at 12:57 pm

    A friend of mine I normally only see at conventions is in town for an interview this weekend, so we’re going to hang.

    Also, my ex-fiancee/current roommate got her portfolio accepted to one of the most prestigious art schools in the U.S., SAIC, so even if she doesn’t find a job in the next couple of months she’ll probably be moving out by year’s end, and in a way that advances her dreams massively, so everyone wins and no one’s the bad guy.

  2. christhecynic July 3, 2013 at 1:34 pm

    My primary computer (a laptop) is in one piece, that required drilling some holes in it to replace screws whose… um., holes I guess you’d call them. The metal reinforced bits sunk into the plastic that the screws screw into, had broken.

    At the same time the monitor lost the ability to produce red I noticed that the cable appeared to be damaged. I had high hopes that the cable (cheap) was the problem not the monitor (not cheap.) But I was wrong. So still no red. I’m also low on hex nuts to secure the new screws BUT I am currently typing this on primary computer which, while it is currently held together by eight screws and a clamp never intended to be used with a laptop, and six of the new screws are waiting on their hex nuts (once they have them I think I can safely ditch the clamp) I HAVE A WORKING COMPUTER! This is very good news.

    Compounding that good news, a friend had gotten a netbook she had no use for, the gift givers didn’t mind it being regifted, and given my computer problems offered to send it to me and it just recently arrived so I haven’t done much with it* but… I HAVE A WORKING COMPUTER THAT CAN PRODUCE THE COLOR RED!

    I have TWO working computers. Well, almost two, the lack of ability to produce the color red is a bit of a downside for primary computer. But, I have a plan. Is it a good plan? No. Of course not. But it’s a plan.

    In other good news I have Health Insurance. (I was supposed to have it ages ago but bureaucracy.) That means I’m back on medication and thus hopefully will not go into a depressive spiral.

    And, saved the best for last, if all goes well I’ll be hanging out with Lonespark and Izzy next week. We should take over the world, but it’s probably too much work so I think we’ll settle for having a good time.

    * Right now I’m still in repair mode, trying to get this as close to fixed as I can. Mechanical things I understand. Computers are clearly magic. (They run on Boolean (binary) logic which was derived from African Sand divination**, clearly magic.) Also making a partial inventory of my recorded from TV DVDs because I’ve needed to do that for a long time.

    Amoung other things, if I’d done it before the last free preview I’d have known that my copy of Orca, which I didn’t record because I knew I already had it, was commercial ridden while the copy I could have recorded was commercial free. And thus would have recorded it again to get a better version.

    ** Religion is like pure math. Done wrong it’s a mess of pointless junk***, done right and it will have a practical purpose, you just might have to wait a couple thousand years to find out what that is. It’ll come, but sometimes it takes time.

    Possibly this similarity is because math was once a religion. (See Pythagoras, and his wife who took over the cult upon his death.)

    *** Junk that can be extremely harmful, see Fred Phelps and the math that was the basis for the 2008 financial crisis. (I don’t know what to do about Fred Phelps, but economists need mathematicians watching over them to point out, loudly, “Yes, your conclusion is true if your assumptions are true, BUT YOU HAVEN”T CHECKED WHETHER YOUR ASSUMPTIONS ARE TRUE YET! Why not go and do that before you stake the fate of the entire world on your theory?”)

  3. anamardoll July 3, 2013 at 2:00 pm

    I am beyond happy and well into ecstatic about all these things, but ESPECIALLY health insurance. Yay. 😀

  4. Lonespark July 4, 2013 at 12:38 pm

    I’m so frakking glad to hear you have health insurance.

    …meeting with Lonespark and Izzy and Lonespark’s kids… Perhaps they need titles. Microspark and Nanospark, or something? Or perhaps I will just stick with Yule Baby and Lammas Baby.

  5. Lonespark July 4, 2013 at 12:50 pm

    Also on the good news front, I have a job interview! Which of course is scheduled to prevent me from staying up all night watching movies and Smothers Brothers routines with Chris, because that’s how the universe rolls, but good news still.

  6. Lonespark July 4, 2013 at 12:54 pm

    Also yaaaaaay, Froborr, for no bad guy, and we hope to add you temporarily to our collective next time you’re up here for a convention.

  7. storiteller July 4, 2013 at 9:52 pm

    Not good news heard, but good news to share…

    CN: Pregnancy
    I gave birth to my baby two and a half weeks ago! We’re all healthy and adjusting to the new situation. So far, he’s been blessedly unfussy and allowing us at least a little sleep…

  8. froborr July 8, 2013 at 10:21 am

    Congrats, storiteller!

Leave a Reply

