Writer Workshop

(Posted by chris the cynic)

Day late, dollar plus inflation short, have a post.

Those of you who also frequent Ana Mardoll’s Ramblings will find this somewhat familiar.  Here, as there, it was requested that there be a regular post to talk about writing projects (and other artwork-creation). Thus this post exists.

Pencil by Elisa Xyz

What are you working on? How are you feeling about it? What thoughts and/or snippets would you like to share? How does your activism work into your art? What tropes are you hoping to employ and/or avoid? Are there any questions you’d like to ask or frustrations you’d like to vent?  Writing workshop below!

10 thoughts on “Writer Workshop

  1. christhecynic July 11, 2013 at 6:29 pm

    I’ve been in a dry spell.

    I still have ideas, they just don’t produce words. Which… isn’t all that unusual but it’s still annoying as all fuck.

  2. ZMiles July 11, 2013 at 6:33 pm

    I submitted a story to Crowded Magazine, a crowdsourced sf/f magazine. Anyone who submits a story can then read, rate, and comment upon all other submissions, and the editors take this into account when choosing who gets accepted. My last entry to them was rejected, but here’s hoping I do better this time.

    Outlined a fantasy story involving huli jing (sorcerer foxes) going up against Big Pharma. Planning to write that one next week; when I’m done I plan to submit to to Tor.com (which, as far as I can tell, pays something like 3x the next highest-paying magazine… and, of course, is much more competitive, but the worst that can happen is a rejection, after all). They’ve rejected stories from me twice (including the story that, after Tor’s rejection, I sent to Crowded), but third time’s the charm, I suppose.

    I also recently studied the SFWA website and learned that the organization, which requires a certain number of publications in eligible venues to join, has a list of some of their eligible venues. There are already some magazines on that list I wasn’t aware of, so I’m going to go over that list and see if anything looks like a good home for some of my previous stories.

  3. Lonespark July 11, 2013 at 8:01 pm

    I want to read about huli jing vs. big pharma!

  4. froborr July 11, 2013 at 8:20 pm

    My editor savaged the first two chapters of my book. His suggestions are really good, but they’re going to be a LOT of work, and it’s likely I’ll have to do it for the whole rest of the book. This is going to be a ROUGH month if I’m going to make the August delivery date for the ebooks, but I think it’s going to make it a lot better.

  5. Lonespark July 11, 2013 at 9:57 pm

    Also, chris, I think you should write the script for Sharknami and submit it to ScyFy. Possible under an assumed name…

    I was supposed to be writing for a prompt but I messed up my week and slept through the deadline. Oops.

  6. Lonespark July 12, 2013 at 9:18 am

    I’m hoping we can count things that aren’t just words? Since lately I am interested in making posters/memes/videos and stuff…

  7. Silver Tyger (@SilvercatTyger) July 12, 2013 at 9:59 am

    I’m trying to do Camp Nanowrimo this month and I’m doing terribly. I have about 3000 words written and I’m aiming for 25k. It’s so hard for me to write when I’m not inspired.

  8. Brin July 12, 2013 at 10:00 am

    I don’t know, Sharknami seems significantly less ridiculous than Sharknado. Judging by the titles, anyway. Sharknado doesn’t come on until 9 tonight. (Mom and I saw the commercial, looked at each other, and grinned. We are going to make popcorn and laugh.)

  9. Lonespark July 12, 2013 at 11:51 am

    Apparently I have a friend who was involved in Sharknado on the business side. I feel kind of awesome by association.

  10. elliemurasaki July 13, 2013 at 11:58 am

    I finished my Yuletide 2012 assignment! …seven months late, but that’s what the New Year’s Resolutions collection is for.

Leave a Reply

