Writer Workshop

(Posted by chris the cynic)

I was more or less away from keyboard the past two days and while it would make sense to schedule these in advance I don’t so sorry for being late.

Those of you who also frequent Ana Mardoll’s Ramblings will find this somewhat familiar.  Here, as there, it was requested that there be a regular post to talk about writing projects (and other artwork-creation). Thus this post exists.

Pencil by Elisa Xyz

What are you working on? How are you feeling about it? What thoughts and/or snippets would you like to share? How does your activism work into your art? What tropes are you hoping to employ and/or avoid? Are there any questions you’d like to ask or frustrations you’d like to vent?  Writing workshop below!

6 thoughts on “Writer Workshop

  1. froborr July 26, 2013 at 11:13 am

    I am very near the point of burnout on book-related research. Thankfully, I have found an outlet: Mark Watches is watching Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood, so I’m giving Episode-Relevant Alchemy Lessons in the comments, based on the book research.

    Sadly, yesterday I finished the very nice history of alchemy I was reading and moved on to Jung’s Psychology and Alchemy. Ugh. It’s not quite throw-it-against-the-wall, Nietzsche levels of ugh, but it’s pretty ugh.

    Blargh, I am exhausted, and I’m not sure if I’m going to finish the research by the date I’m supposed to send this back to the editor, let alone the writing.

  2. depizan July 26, 2013 at 1:47 pm

    In an unexpected twist, discussing a deeply problematic movie seems to have cured my “ugh, can’t write, real life sucks.” Apparently I run entirely on fiction (and Mexican Coca-Cola).

    I think I’ve solve the tone problems I was having with the stalled fanfic, or at least postponed them, because at present, my solution is to interrupt the argument I’m having trouble with. (Who knew that having a character think that their friend is being used by their friend’s other friend would be hard to write without being depressing. Perhaps this way, Character A will spend enough time around Character C to grant that Character B might be right about him, before they have to return to the question, or at least other related questions.)

    Also, as I mentioned over in Ana’s Skyfall review, I really would rather like to take a poke at the horrible scene by doing, well, that scene the way it should’ve gone. In addition to having to write a story that would fit in, I still can’t decide how obvious a poke I should make. On the one hand, William Tell scenes aren’t uncommon and one done straight just, well, looks like one done straight (unless I went the “keep them talking” route…), but making it too obviously a poke at that scene could turn people who liked the movie off. It needs to be sufficiently parallel that its applicable, though. (If for no reason other than to satisfy -me- by making it play out differently in an alternate reality. (very alternate, considering I write SW:TOR fanfic))

    Or maybe that’s a bad idea, and I should keep my irkedness with one franchise out of my enjoyment of another.

  3. Lonespark July 26, 2013 at 3:37 pm

    I run entirely on fiction (and Mexican Coca-Cola).

    This is very awesome.
    And so are you.

  4. elliemurasaki July 26, 2013 at 9:44 pm

    I have set myself a deadline: finish Self-Rescuing Princess by September 30.

  5. christhecynic July 29, 2013 at 1:41 pm

    I am now a published author. Follow the link for more info.

  6. Firedrake July 29, 2013 at 2:35 pm

    Yay and congrats!

Leave a Reply

