Extending the very extended extension filled extention

So, what do you do when your medication doesn’t work and real life hits you like a-

Enough.

I mean it’s not like you can hide in a hole or anything, you have responsibilities.

I can hide in a hole just fine.  I don’t even take up the whole hole most of the time.

And people are counting on you-

You haven’t seen the traffic stats, I have.

So you’ve got to do something.

Generally I announce that I’m late… again, remind everyone that when I’m late they’re allowed to be late, implore them to send something in, hammer home the fact that it’s since the last time they submitted (even if that was never) not the last week, and hope and pray two things.

Those being?

One, that people will make submissions.  Two, that I’ll manage to do the post another day late at the worst.

Does that work?

Almost never.

So why do it?

I have to do something.

The weekend post won’t be happening in the weekend.  It’ll be the Monday post, at best.  Again.  Until the post is up consider submissions open.

If, soon after it goes up, you have a submission ready, send it.  There is a procedure for this and it is in no way bad for you, whereas waiting to send it could result in forgetting to send it in which case that is bad for you.  There is, in fact, no reason that you have to wait until the last minute to send in submissions to the “This Week” post.  If you want to you can send a submission every Wednesday.  No one does, but it is theoretically possible.

Though if you were to choose an early day to send submissions it would be nice if you indicated what post they were for (i.e. if you decide to send submissions every Sunday it would be good to note that they’re not late submissions for the previous Saturday’s post, they’re on time submissions for the next Saturday’s post.)

Anyway, occasionally me being late has led to other people getting submissions in where otherwise they wouldn’t, normally it has no effect.  The rule is always the same: if you have something, submit.

Hell, look at it this way: If me being late results in you submitting then something good came of my failure.  If me being late does not result in any additional people submitting then my failure is complete.  There is no silver lining; all is lost.  A world in ruin.  All the sads all the time.  So please, for the good of humanity and all other sapient species, submit.

Or something like that.  I’ve just had a very bad day.  Forgive me if I’m a bit loopy.

5 thoughts on “Extending the very extended extension filled extention

  1. Silver Tyger (@SilvercatTyger) July 29, 2013 at 11:40 am

    I’ve emailed some things. Sorry I didn’t notice the submission call before.

  2. Lonespark July 30, 2013 at 6:10 pm

    I’m…going to have a thing. I haven’t submitted before and have no idea what to do.

  3. christhecynic July 30, 2013 at 8:14 pm

    Send an email to SlacktiverseAuthors (at) gmail (dot) com containing the words you want to appear and the link that goes with them. That’s basically it. Any other considerations are whatever you feel like. Different people seem to prefer different things.

  4. Lonespark July 31, 2013 at 5:53 am

    Link? Can’t I just send, like a Word file?

    Anyway, thanks.

  5. christhecynic July 31, 2013 at 8:53 am

    I misunderstood what you were asking. I thought you had a thing for the weekend post, not a thing in itself. Yes, you can absolutely send a word file.

    In the case of having an article/whatsit basically you just have to send it, what name you want in the byline, and if you want someone to beta-read it for you before it goes up or not.

    I think that’s everything but if anyone thinks I’m leaving something out please do speak up.

Leave a Reply

