Writer Workshop

(Posted by chris the cynic)

Those of you who also frequent Ana Mardoll’s Ramblings will find this somewhat familiar.  Here, as there, it was requested that there be a regular post to talk about writing projects (and other artwork-creation). Thus this post exists.

Pencil by Elisa Xyz

What are you working on? How are you feeling about it? What thoughts and/or snippets would you like to share? How does your activism work into your art? What tropes are you hoping to employ and/or avoid? Are there any questions you’d like to ask or frustrations you’d like to vent?  Writing workshop below!

4 thoughts on “Writer Workshop

  1. christhecynic July 31, 2013 at 5:32 pm

    Today I got a check in the mail which means that in addition to being published I’m now officially a professional author.

    Of course I got the same amount of money by finally returning my glass strawberry milk bottles (with more on the way because they have a maximum they’re willing to give out on the spot so the rest is paid by check mailed to the bottle returner) so this isn’t necessarily an indication I have a future in professional authing.

  2. elliemurasaki July 31, 2013 at 7:23 pm

    Yay Chris!

    I…you know the NC-17 f/f/f story I proposed on Slacktivist a while back for shits and giggles, the one where the women have the initials DC, LX, and VI (ha ha aren’t I clever–this was in contrast to Viv Ivins)? It’s turning into an actual thing. I don’t want to write another apocalyptic fantasy, one four-book series of that is enough for the time being, but that’s where it seems to be going.

  3. depizan July 31, 2013 at 11:37 pm

    I’m pretty sure most, if not all, authors started out making bottle-deposit money. Here’s hoping that this -is- the start of a professional authing career. At least if that would be a good thing.

    Part of me still wants to professionally auth someday (though I have been published once), but another part of me is oddly content with the world of fanfic. If I some day get over my world building issues, we’ll see. In the meantime, playing in the Star Wars universe is satisfying. (The fact that I’m sorely tempted to, at some point, write my hypothetical – and not necessarily EU compliant – episodes VII VIII and IX is definitely a factor there. But I am also having way too much fun with my, ah, Aurek Team* stories.)

    I still wish I could figure out working in character description, but the fact that its pretty normal for fanfic authors to also draw and/or commission art of their characters helps me out there. At least I’d like to think I’m conveying Asian features in my art. *frets*

    There are also times when I wish I had an in-person sort of writing group, at least before I remember that every one of those I was part of ever were horrible. But there are times when I wish I knew if I was successfully conveying things or not, and I still fuss about the violence level and whether or not I should include things and… stuff like that. Oh well.

    *Aurek is the first letter of the aurebesh (Star Wars) alphabet. And now you’re all looking at me weird…

  4. froborr August 1, 2013 at 6:45 am

    Round one of edits is now very nearly done, I just need to go through, make sure I got everything, and fix the formatting that got trashed in all the passing back and forth of files.

    The book is now just about twice as long as the blog posts it’s based on–those clocked in at about 35K words, and the book is now about 40 shy of 70K.

    I really want to finish round one, send it off, and then not even THINK about anything pony-related for at least a week. So, of course, I’m heading off to Bronycon tonight. Eheh…

Leave a Reply

