Open Thread: Two Truths and a Lie

posted by Storiteller

 

Editor’s Note: This was originally a writing prompt and then I realized when I wrote my own that it was too short to be a writing prompt.  So I’m turning it into an open thread instead.  Feel free to give your own description in the comments or guess other people’s.

One of my favorite games to play on road trips or other places where you’re with a group of people you don’t know very well is called Two Truths and a Lie.  The idea is to tell three stories, two of them the complete truth and one of them at least partly made-up.  The audience then asks questions and guesses which of the stories is the lie.  What stories would you tell for Two Truths and Lie?  Provide as much or as little detail as you would like.  Feel free to ask questions and guess which is the “lie” in the comments!

 

12 thoughts on “Open Thread: Two Truths and a Lie

  1. storiteller August 16, 2013 at 7:27 pm

    1) I have been stuck on a glacier in Alaska. While on vacation with my parents, I was taking an airplane tour around Denali that included an optional “glacier stop.” When we took off, the plane had a funny burning smell, so we landed again. After trying to fix it, the pilot needed to call in a second plane to rescue us.

    2) I was arrested protesting a natural gas pipeline and refinery Shell is building in rural Western Ireland. I was standing in solidarity with the local community, who has had a number of environmental and social problems emerge from the project.

    3) I interviewed Bill Nye the Science Guy when I worked as a reporter for my college’s newspaper. He carries a copy of the periodic table in his wallet.

  2. Brin August 17, 2013 at 7:44 am

    @storiteller
    I’m going to guess #3. The way I want it to be true makes me suspicious.

    1. I’ve pet a shark. Had to wash the petting hand up to the elbow afterward to get off any shark poop, but it was worth it.

    2. My family (myself included) spent an hour and a half trapped in a rest-stop McDonalds in Connecticut, afraid to continue our drive because of the severe thunderstorm outside.

    3. I went on a tour of a graveyard and saw the graves of John McCrae’s parents. (John himself was given a war grave and never got to join them there.)

  3. elliemurasaki August 17, 2013 at 6:23 pm

    I always knew I was gray-asexual. I didn’t always know the word.

    I always knew I was genderqueer. I didn’t always know the word.

    I always knew I was queer. I didn’t always know the word.

  4. Firedrake August 19, 2013 at 8:22 am

    I’m really terrible at this. I can never come up with the right sort of lie.

  5. storiteller August 19, 2013 at 9:25 am

    Brin, I’m going to guess number 3 for you as well. Something about it is less exciting than the other two, which makes me think it’s the lie.

    EllieMurasaki, very thought-provoking post! I’m going to guess the first one, because I think that’s something you wouldn’t necessary know until you hit puberty and actually had sexual urges.

    Firedrake, I find it most helpful to either take an experience that did happen to you and tweak it enough to make it untrue or wholesale use an experience that happened to someone else that you know very well. (I have a story from my husband that I sometimes use that I’ve heard told a bunch of times.)

  6. elliemurasaki August 19, 2013 at 9:26 am

    Am I supposed to answer the guess?

  7. Brin August 19, 2013 at 12:08 pm

    Something about it is less exciting than the other two, which makes me think it’s the lie.

    Yeah, I was having trouble with the last one. The lie, for me, was easy: the problem was coming up with the right sort of truth. I was going to say it was Laura Secord’s grave (she warned the British the Americans were coming), but then I remembered that, too, was one degree off. (She’s in Niagara Falls. Her sister is in Guelph.) I already had a lie, so that wouldn’t do.

    It was a nice tour, but not the most appropriate story.

    (Answer: Gurer *jnf* n onq guhaqrefgbez va Pbaarpgvphg gung avtug, naq jr cebonoyl *fubhyq* unir fgbccrq fbzrjurer naq jnvgrq vg bhg, ohg jr qvqa’g.)

  8. depizan August 19, 2013 at 4:58 pm

    1. I once went rock climbing, well, rock scrambling, really (no gear or special skills involved) by the light of the full moon.

    2. I once rode a bike blindfolded. And lived.

    3. I once intentionally got myself locked in a college student union, mostly to see if I could. (And escaped with, so far as I know, no one the wiser.)

  9. storiteller August 19, 2013 at 8:33 pm

    EllieMurasaki, I would say to post it in rot13 so that people can guess if they want first without being spoiled.

    Brin, clever! That’s exactly the right way to write that type of lie.

    Depizan, I love all three of those. They’re so much fun that I don’t want any of them to be untrue. I’m going to say the second one is the lie, because that’s terribly hard. Not impossible, but I’m a very experienced bicyclist and I can’t imagine being able to do it. (Although it’s obvious that the “and lived” part is true!)

    Here’s the answer to mine:
    Ahzore gjb vf gur yvr: V qvq zl tenqhngr erfrnepu ba gung cebwrpg va Verynaq naq ivfvgrq gur cebgrfg fvgr bhgfvqr bs gur Furyy angheny tnf ersvarel, ohg qvqa’g “bssvpvnyyl” cebgrfg zlfrys. V jrag gb n ybg bs raivebazragny cebgrfgf va gur HX, ohg jnfa’g jvyyvat gb or neerfgrq orpnhfr V qvqa’g xabj jung gur ehyrf sbe aba-Rhebcrna pvgvmraf jrer.

    Oeva, V qvq vagreivrj Ovyy Alr! Ur jnf na nyhzahf bs zl pbyyrtr naq jebgr nebhaq pnzchf ba n obeebjrq ovxr. Urer’f gur negvpyr, vs lbh’er vagrerfgrq: uggc://pbearyyfha.pbz/abqr/9935

  10. Brin August 19, 2013 at 9:13 pm

    I’m going to say the second one is the lie, because that’s terribly hard.

    It would take a lot of practice to not be extremely dangerous, yeah.

    (I learned of the existence of echolocation-biking from the Discovery Channel, not that article. It’s just an example.)

    Although it’s obvious that the “and lived” part is true!

    I’m not so sure. It has occurred to me it might be possible to make a keyboard that interprets an extremely localised drop in temperature on a key as having “pressed” it, thus allowing ghosts (of certain kinds, anyway) to type.

  11. depizan August 19, 2013 at 11:37 pm

    Lbh’er nyy dhvgr pbeerpg. Ab oyvaqsbyqrq ovxr evqvat. (Gubhtu V qb guvax vg jbhyq or vagrerfgvat gb gel, jvgu nccebcevngr fnsrthneqf naq nyy.) V nz, ubjrire nyvir. Ng yrnfg V’z cerggl fher V nz.

    I do love the idea of blogging ghosts, though.

  12. elliemurasaki August 20, 2013 at 7:04 am

    About mine: Zl guveq bar vf gur yvr. Obgu unyirf. V pna’g erzrzore jura V yrnearq gur jbeq ‘dhrre’ ohg vg jnf n ybat gvzr orsber jura V svtherq bhg gung vg zvtug nccyl gb zr. Zvaq, V’q orra ernqvat Fnvybezbba s/s uragnv sbe lrnef ng gung cbvag. V’z ernyyl fybj fbzrgvzrf.

Leave a Reply

