Writer Workshop

(Posted by chris the cynic)

Those of you who also frequent Ana Mardoll’s Ramblings will find this somewhat familiar.  Here, as there, it was requested that there be a regular post to talk about writing projects (and other artwork-creation). Thus this post exists.

Pencil by Elisa Xyz

What are you working on? How are you feeling about it? What thoughts and/or snippets would you like to share? How does your activism work into your art? What tropes are you hoping to employ and/or avoid? Are there any questions you’d like to ask or frustrations you’d like to vent?  Writing workshop below!

15 thoughts on “Writer Workshop

  1. elliemurasaki August 22, 2013 at 11:25 pm

    I can’t talk about jukebox_fest in any degree of specificity, because it is an anonymous story exchange. But I’m quite enjoying figuring out how to write a story around the song I matched on. All I need now is to straighten it out into words.

  2. Lonespark August 23, 2013 at 11:35 am

    I am contemplating writing down some snippets of the stories I’ve been carrying in my head since childhood. So far it’s mostly just contemplation, but any cheerleading would help make it over the hurdle to actual writing.

  3. elliemurasaki August 23, 2013 at 11:36 am

    *pompoms*

  4. Lonespark August 23, 2013 at 11:44 am

    Thank you!

  5. depizan August 23, 2013 at 1:43 pm

    On a similar note, I’m coming up on a weekend off, and I’d really like to get some writing done, damn it. I keep getting nothing at all done instead of writing, and I dont want another weekend like that. Any suggestions or encouragements are greatly appreciated.

  6. depizan August 23, 2013 at 1:44 pm

    *cheers Lonespark on*

  7. storiteller August 23, 2013 at 7:08 pm

    I’m trying to keep up on journaling my experience of being a parent, but I’m about a week and a half behind. It’s a weird project, because it’s the first lengthy personal journaling I’ve done in a long time. Almost everything else has been public, where I could be motivated knowing that people were expecting new content. This has to be completely motivated by my interest to chronicle my thoughts and feelings.

  8. elliemurasaki August 23, 2013 at 7:16 pm

    *pompoms Depizan*

    I am proud to report that the sonnet cycle I’ve been working on for the past several weeks is done.

  9. Silver Tyger (@SilvercatTyger) August 24, 2013 at 8:21 am

    I had decided that the comic I’m vaguely working on would recognize the difference between sex and gender, and that there would be a third gender option for genderqueer and trans* people and anyone else who wants to use it. Right now I’m working on terms. And because I can never make things simple, there’s actually four sets of terms: gender unknown (they), man (he), woman (she), third gender (I haven’t come up with the term yet) (zie).

    Originally I was going to call it ‘else’ and have the pronouns be el / se, but I decided that that is way too twee.

    The main character’s child is genderqueer and probably one of her (the mc’s) best friends.

    About the only thing I’m decided on is the paradigm ‘child / kid, son, rise / kit, daughter’. And it bugs me immensely that there isn’t already a gender neutral term for aunt / uncle and nephew / niece without circumlocutions.

  10. elliemurasaki August 24, 2013 at 8:24 am

    I’ve heard ‘nibling’ and ‘nebling’ for the gender-neutral child of one’s sibling. And I’d just like to observe that pronouns are a personal thing, there’s already a bunch of third singular neutral ones, ‘they’ is one of them, and I know someone (who is perfectly well aware of what their gender is) who prefers to be referred to as ‘they’.

  11. Lonespark August 24, 2013 at 8:31 am

    “Niblings!” I like it!

  12. Silver Tyger (@SilvercatTyger) August 24, 2013 at 8:52 am

    This isn’t meant as a model for real world stuff – I figure that this is the in-world equivalent of the AP stylebook that’s widely recognized (unlike here/now where I can’t even get my mom to recognize me as genderqueer and I’m not even going to try at work).

    Some of the stuff is better – in the nation the stories are set, gay marriage is legal everywhere, there’s universal (and better) healthcare. A lot of stuff is the same – there’s still all the usual bigotry, although it’s less accepted. Some stuff is worse – there’s some serious fantastical racism and, at least in the city it’s mostly set, some serious government corruption.

    I *think* because my comic isn’t set on Earth, not doing things the way real people do is okay (with the usual caveats about not being an asshole). Unfortunately, I haven’t managed to hook up with the appropriate communities to be up to date on all this stuff in the real world (probably because I’m not on tumblr? I don’t even know where to look). I’m not trying to step on any toes or dictate anything to anyone.

  13. ZMiles August 25, 2013 at 10:40 am

    I finished a draft of my current short story, so I’m putting that to the side while I try to outline my novel idea and see if it will be workable to actually write a novel about. Hopefully I can revise the short story this week and submit it somewhere; right now I’m looking at Tor.com. It needs fairly serious revisions (I need to standardize some character personalities that morphed over the course of the story, excise a fight scene that slowed down the pacing, and cut about 2,500 words from it in general, since 10,000 words is the max many venues I’m looking at will consider), but I’m hoping I can get that done this week.

    No word back on the three stories I have currently in the midst of the submission process, but still hoping!

  14. Silver Tyger (@SilvercatTyger) August 25, 2013 at 12:29 pm

    Awesome Zmiles! Good luck with your submissions.

  15. depizan August 25, 2013 at 2:53 pm

    Yes! Good luck, ZMiles!

    Now I just need to be productive, like everyone else here.

Leave a Reply

