Writer Workshop

(Posted by chris the cynic)

Those of you who also frequent Ana Mardoll’s Ramblings will find this somewhat familiar.  Here, as there, it was requested that there be a regular post to talk about writing projects (and other artwork-creation). Thus this post exists.

Pencil by Elisa Xyz

What are you working on? How are you feeling about it? What thoughts and/or snippets would you like to share? How does your activism work into your art? What tropes are you hoping to employ and/or avoid? Are there any questions you’d like to ask or frustrations you’d like to vent?  Writing workshop below!

8 thoughts on “Writer Workshop

  1. elliemurasaki August 28, 2013 at 7:29 am

    In a few days I am setting forth on a journey to write a novel in a month, familiar to everyone who has ventured into the wilds of NaNoWriMo. I won’t have time in November, I expect, so I’m doing it in September.

    AAAAAAAAA

  2. froborr August 28, 2013 at 8:25 am

    My editor told me to expect the final edits on my book by this evening, so I’m on tenterhooks waiting on that.

    Blogwise, I’ve got big changes coming–planning to buy a domain in case anyone goes looking for my blog, and taking advantage of that to broaden my scope–I’m still going to be doing an episode of MLP a week, but I want to also have some kind of content on other media every Wednesday, and the daily thoughts will now be about anything I feel like writing about, not just ponies.

    I’ve got a fiction buzzing around inside my brain, currently absorbing several other ideas. It started as “something like the Dresden Files, but with a WOC as the main character” and then devoureded “fey discover humanity, are terrified at the possibility that we’re their creators,” “long-form story with structure based on the alchemical magnum opus rather than the traditional rising-falling-denoument,” and “our world starts overlapping a fantasy world, with disastrous consequences for both.” It’s currently circling “Gnostic apocalypse” and “the difference between Gnostic Christ and Nyarlothotep is your point of view” and licking its lips.

  3. Silver Tyger (@SilvercatTyger) August 28, 2013 at 9:51 am

    Froborr, I know the feeling of a story devouring other ideas! I have a vampire story that has ended up with all sorts of world-building bits pulled in. (Vampires and human partnership! Vampires go into heat! Vampires all aromantic – I have to figure out how that’ll work for families – so NO romance between the human and vampire leads. The day is saved because the mc is a bookworm! Voluntary servitude to get out of a restrictive heirarchy. CONLANGING! Except not really because I’m going to take as much from an ancestor of Romanian as I can. Monsters that lurk in the dark and eat life force!)

    I posted a bit of fic inspired by a character of a lj friend of mine, and he’s all excited about it.

  4. ZMiles August 28, 2013 at 10:14 am

    I’m going to try doing a novel in September too. I went through my library and collected some statistics on books similar in genre to my idea (counting chapters, scenes, estimating a word count, etc), outlined my idea, and verified that what I’m looking at isn’t completely out of left field in terms of structure. So I’m going to be trying for that. I successfully completed a 104,000 word rough draft for NaNo a few years ago, so this time I’m doing a slightly different goal — about 70,000 words, but I want to be done with the final draft by the time October rolls around. I don’t expect that I’ll actually complete this goal, but I’m going for it anyway. I’ve done two novel rough drafts that didn’t really go anywhere, so now I want to try moving to the next level and producing something I can send to an agent.

    As for my short story submissions — one of them was rejected, unfortunately. But I’ve still got two out there. Here’s hoping!

  5. Lonespark August 28, 2013 at 5:08 pm

    This stuff is all awesome. Yay writers! Yay ideas!

  6. ZMiles August 29, 2013 at 7:28 am

    I’ve got a good feeling about this one. 🙂

    I’ve done two full novel rough drafts before, but neither really went anywhere, and I think one of the reasons is that I didn’t do much planning out beforehand. When I made things up as I went along, I found that sometimes what I’d done before didn’t work, and then I’d either have to spend a lot of time going back over what I’d already done to change something (which could cause ripple effects elsewhere, and so forth, and I’d never progress) or I’d have to make a note to fix it later and keep going with the ‘change’ in mind. But that resulted in a fragmented, disjointed story, almost like multiple drafts got mashed together. And by the end I had trouble just keeping straight what all the sections were ‘supposed’ to be like then. So neither method really worked for me.

    This time, I’m doing much more specific outlining of things ahead of time. I’ve got descriptions now of each scene in the novel, and which scenes go in which chapters, and so forth. As I write this I’m looking at the sketch I came up with for the house in which a lot of the action will take place, because I want to make sure rooms don’t migrate about and I want to also make sure that the plot critical locations (e.g., “The henchman’s room must be next to the servant’s passage so the hero can eavesdrop on the henchman after gaining access to that passage “) are all where they’re supposed to be and don’t contradict each other. Tomorrow, I’m going to be marking up all the physical descriptions (eye, hair, and skin color, height and build, accents, etc), and also the abilities/limitations that the characters will have, to make sure that they have what they need for the plot to work, and that they don’t have anything that would break the plot.

    I’m hopeful that planning things out thoroughly will help me avoid pitfalls, both in terms of plot contradictions and keeping characterization consistent.

  7. elliemurasaki August 29, 2013 at 12:30 pm

    I’ve got a two-paragraph outline and an incomplete several-paragraph outline. I’m winging it the rest of the way.

  8. ZMiles September 4, 2013 at 12:34 am

    Despite starting late due to a combination of a sore foot and laziness, I’ve got 3,000 words down so far and two scenes drafted. Hoping to get more done tomorrow! 🙂

Leave a Reply

