Writer Workshop

(Posted by chris the cynic)

Those of you who also frequent Ana Mardoll’s Ramblings will find this somewhat familiar.  Here, as there, it was requested that there be a regular post to talk about writing projects (and other artwork-creation). Thus this post exists.

Pencil by Elisa Xyz

What are you working on? How are you feeling about it? What thoughts and/or snippets would you like to share? How does your activism work into your art? What tropes are you hoping to employ and/or avoid? Are there any questions you’d like to ask or frustrations you’d like to vent?  Writing workshop below!

7 thoughts on “Writer Workshop

  1. Lonespark September 11, 2013 at 12:34 pm

    Lately I have made a couple of attempts to write fun sexy fiction that have gotten bogged down in worldbuilding and angst. Not that I tried that hard in the sense of “continually trying instead of getting distracted by shiny objects.”

    I think I shall in the future try to post stuff for Femslash Friday. Not every week, but sometimes. Probably not this Friday, since I’m working. I could write something ahead of time, but when do I ever do that?

  2. elliemurasaki September 11, 2013 at 6:35 pm

    What is this ‘Femslash Friday’ and why have I not heard of it before?

    I’m pondering my way through chapter two. I’ve got a couple hundred words and a lot of pondering.

  3. Lonespark September 12, 2013 at 3:41 am

    I believe it’s a Tumblr thing? Might have started elsewhere, but that’s where I saw it.

  4. elliemurasaki September 12, 2013 at 5:08 am

    *nods*

  5. froborr September 12, 2013 at 3:11 pm

    Most other writing is on hold this week as I scramble to put together a one-shot BESM campaign that I’m scheduled to run about 10 times at Anime USA this weekend. Unfortunately I set the bar quite high for myself last year with a massive crossover between characters from seven different shows, with a plot that shifted dramatically depending on which characters the players picked. Doing my best this year, but I don’t think I’ll get anything as surreally beautiful as the weird buddy-pic good-cop bad-cop dynamic that emerged between Rainbow Dash and Guts (a hyperviolent angst-driven medieval warrior from the anime Berserk) last year.

    This year’s characters, for those familiar with some or all of them and/or interested, are:

    Utena Tenjou, the main character of Revolutionary Girl Utena, an athletic adolescent girl who gets caught up in her school’s fencing/dueling club which turns out to be a front for a vast cosmic conspiracy… or something, it’s one of the most notoriously open-to-interpretation anime ever made. She can draw magical swords from the hearts of her allies, with properties varying according to who she draws the sword from.

    Gary Oak, the main character’s rival from the first season of Pokemon. Mostly because he has an Umbreon, and it is my favorite Pokemon.

    Kanata Shinomome, a secondary character from AKB0048, a child soldier/pop star who grew up in the rebellion against oppressive tyrants who banned all forms of entertainment. She pilots a giant robot armed only with nonlethal weapons, and also her songs enable her to support/aid other party members.

    Zelgadis Grayworth, a major character from The Slayers. Great-grandson of the legendary wandering sage Rezo the Red Priest, who used Zelgadis in magical experiments that resulted in him being part golem, part demon, and part human. Serious, taciturn swordsman/magic user who is one of nature’s comedy straightmen.

    Michael Carpenter, a secondary character from some of the Dresden Files books, a kind and warm man who is chosen wielder of the Amoracchius, the Sword of Love, a.k.a. Excalibur, against the forces of evil, mostly Fallen Angels. Unusually for such characters, he is called specifically to *save* people (including trying to redeem his enemies), and kill bad guys only if there is no other way.

    Toph Bei Fong, major character from Avatar the Last Airbender, a blind 12-year-old girl who is one of the greatest martial artists in history, and can use her art to “bend” (telekinetically manipulate) earth and metal.

    Doctor Whooves, a Doctor Who/My Little Pony: Friendship Is Magic crossover character. Last survivor of Gallopfrey, basically identical to the Doctor except that he’s a pony.

  6. Silver Tyger (@SilvercatTyger) September 13, 2013 at 8:46 am

    I wrote a prequel vignette to one of my pieces (Doll Eyes). I have to get it typed up and edited, but I wrote something! Which I haven’t done in a while.

  7. elliemurasaki September 17, 2013 at 4:51 pm

    Argh. Need to write, basically, an elevator pitch for joining a longstanding network of small businesses against the supernatural. Cannot think how to begin.

Leave a Reply

