Writer Workshop

(Posted by chris the cynic)

Those of you who also frequent Ana Mardoll’s Ramblings will find this somewhat familiar.  Here, as there, it was requested that there be a regular post to talk about writing projects (and other artwork-creation). Thus this post exists.

Pencil by Elisa Xyz

What are you working on? How are you feeling about it? What thoughts and/or snippets would you like to share? How does your activism work into your art? What tropes are you hoping to employ and/or avoid? Are there any questions you’d like to ask or frustrations you’d like to vent?  Writing workshop below!

4 thoughts on “Writer Workshop

  1. ZMiles September 25, 2013 at 11:50 am

    I fell behind, but I did finally draft the second part of my novel. Just the last third to go.

    I have 6 days left, counting today. I have 11 scenes remaining and about 19,000 words. If I can just do 2 scenes and about 3000 words a day, I’m good. I met this goal yesterday, and I’m going to try meeting it each day until the end. Here’s hoping!

  2. Silver Tyger (@SilvercatTyger) September 26, 2013 at 8:50 am

    I’ve written more stuff for Daniel and Rowan (formerly Roland) Loyd, and come up with a series title (Not really a creative one – I’m calling it Puzzle-verse). I’ve got two more vignettes finished and I’m working on a short story (with actual plot!).

    Out of curiousity, does anybody use Scrivener or Ywriter? They seem similar, except Ywriter is free and can be used on a thumb drive (which is a requirement for me.) I’m trying out Ywriter right now for the Puzzle-verse stories. I had tried out Scrivener before, but I think it’ll be easier when I’m not converting it from a Word document.

  3. ZMiles September 26, 2013 at 10:21 pm

    I use TextEdit mostly, and an Excel spreadsheet to track stats like # of words/day. When I need to do a wordcount I copy-paste into a word document.

  4. elliemurasaki September 27, 2013 at 8:42 am

    I made a couple words on the novel! That’s more than I’ve done all week!

    And I promptly emailed a friend with a scent sensitivity for research purposes relating to scent sensitivity and can’t make any more words till she answers. This is not productive, brain.

Leave a Reply

