Open Thread: Comfort Food

(Submitted by Silver Tyger)

What’s your comfort food?

5 thoughts on “Open Thread: Comfort Food

  1. froborr September 26, 2013 at 6:43 pm

    Is “anything edible” an acceptable answer? Because eating–and in particular, very varied eating–is basically how I keep the “functional” part of “functional depressive.”

  2. Silver Tyger (@SilvercatTyger) September 26, 2013 at 7:19 pm

    Anything is an acceptable answer far as I’m concerned.

    I’ve had way too many days where I asked myself why I felt so bad and the answer was ‘because you haven’t eaten anything today / in eight hours’.

  3. froborr September 26, 2013 at 8:22 pm

    That’s never happened to me. I’ve never in my life forgotten to eat. I usually want food long before I have a chance to get hungry.

  4. Lonespark September 26, 2013 at 9:40 pm

    I don’t think I’ve every forgotten to eat. I have forgotten to plan to effectively obtain food. Like, twice a week?

    I like things that are spicy and tasty. Like Thai curries and ALL THE THINGS from New Mexico made with green chile. They are great if you have a cold, too. Which I do. Bleh.

    Also pie. Especially my grandmother’s pies, and especially blueberry pie…but being grandmotherless for a couple of years now, I have yet to develop a replacement sources of blueberry pie. And no one makes apple pie like she did either.

    And raspberry jam. Gaaaaaahhh.

  5. Coleslaw September 27, 2013 at 5:17 am

    Pastina is my all time favorite comfort food, but it’s hard to find here. Walmart started carrying it for a while, and then stopped.

    When I was in Argentina, there was a chicken dish I really liked that helped soothe my travel tummy. It was just a chicken cutlet breaded and sautéed and served with mashed potatoes, but it had some subtle seasoning. I had something similar last night called Chicken Paillard”, but it had a sauce.

Leave a Reply

