This week in the Slacktiverse, September 29th, 2013

(posted and compiled by chris the cynic, written by members of The Slacktiverse)

Just a minor note: if you have multiple names it helps if you say which one you want to be credited as in your email.

The Blogaround

chris the cynic wrote:

I had a bad day.  Multiple actually.  I went to a meeting where a deaf-blind hiker who has done most of the Appalachian Trail and his deaf special support person gave remarks.  It was supposed to be in honor of him finishing, but conditions forced them to turn around with 2 miles left to go.  He’ll finish next year.  My shoe blowing out lead to me talking about (my lack of) money.

I watched the first episode of Marvel’s Agent’s of Shield and jotted down notes as I did.  There are spoilers but generally vague ones.  Amazon is dumping me, so if you want to buy something on Amazon through me, so that I get a cut, do it before the 6th.  And finally, just this morning I watched a Law and Order episode which was depressing enough to remind me why I never watch Law and Order episodes.

In Case You Missed This

Silver Tyger wrote:

Strange Horizons has had a number of articles and stories lately that I think will interest others.
(I’m just going to copy and paste from their homepage.)

A non-Anglocentric understanding of science fiction and fantasy must open up the genre towards the dialectic of local and universal, rather than be aligned towards the one or the other.

(very academic, so I just skimmed it.)

Set Truth on Stun: Reimagining an Anti-Oppressive SF/F, by Daniel José Older

I asked a group of writers, editors and publishers to imagine in both practical and fantastical ways what the SF and fantasy community would look like if it was actively anti-oppressive.

Difference of Opinion, by Meda Kahn

Problem is Keiya’s brain never told her to paste her lips upright if she wants people to be nice. It’s the IQ machine. She’s been told she’d make a very good robot, all things considered.

(Meda Kahn is an autistic woman and a writer of sci-fi. She lives in Colorado. This is her first published work.) (TW: for discussion of ableism)

Also available as a podcast:Difference of Opinion

You Have to Follow the Rules, by Ada Hoffmann

So the things Mommy could not see made as much sense as anything else.

( Ada Hoffmann is an Aspie from southern Ontario who studies computer science in grad school. Her work has appeared in Goblin Fruit and in “Imaginarium 2012: The Best Canadian Speculative Writing”.)

Also available as a podcast:You Have to Follow the Rules

Things You Can Do

Ellie Murasaki wrote:
The Strange Horizons fundraising drive has passed $3K, so the next bonus content is the essay “Recentering Science Fiction and the Fantastic: What Would a Non-Anglocentric Understanding of SF and Fantasy Look Like?” by Bodhisattva Chattopadhyay. I want to read that so bad, y’all. Please donate if you’re able and willing, and please signal-boost! And hey, if it’s gotten past $4K by the time this makes a Slacktiverse post, Strange Horizons, being a nonprofit speculative fiction magazine whose guidelines emphasize that they want “Fiction from or about diverse perspectives and traditionally under-represented groups, settings, and cultures, written from a non-exoticizing and well-researched position”, is still an excellent place to give your money.

–Co-authored by the Slacktiverse Community

4 thoughts on “This week in the Slacktiverse, September 29th, 2013

  1. elliemurasaki September 29, 2013 at 8:31 am

    I see Silver Tyger and I think along the same lines.

  2. Lonespark September 29, 2013 at 12:05 pm

    Ellie,
    Have you read the So Long Been Dreaming anthology? I am almost done and it rocks my face off.

  3. elliemurasaki September 29, 2013 at 5:53 pm

    I have not heard of it. I go DuckDuckGo it now.

  4. Silver Tyger (@SilvercatTyger) September 30, 2013 at 10:24 am

    I used to read Strange Horizons and then stopped for reasons I can’t remember, but I found it again (I think via Scalzi?) and I love it, because yay! diversity!

Leave a Reply

