Writer Workshop

(Posted by chris the cynic)

Those of you who also frequent Ana Mardoll’s Ramblings will find this somewhat familiar.  Here, as there, it was requested that there be a regular post to talk about writing projects (and other artwork-creation). Thus this post exists.

Pencil by Elisa Xyz

What are you working on? How are you feeling about it? What thoughts and/or snippets would you like to share? How does your activism work into your art? What tropes are you hoping to employ and/or avoid? Are there any questions you’d like to ask or frustrations you’d like to vent?  Writing workshop below!

6 thoughts on “Writer Workshop

  1. christhecynic October 2, 2013 at 10:07 am

    It took more than a year since part one, but I finally got part two of the princess story written.

  2. Lonespark October 2, 2013 at 1:59 pm

    All I’ve written so far is an idea, and I don’t know if I really want to follow through on it. Or rather I think I do, but I need to get a better idea about who the characters should be. And what the setting or settings should be, too.

    Idea:
    (It’s short so I’ll just copy it, but the post is on Dreamwidth at the address below if you want to comment and brainstorm.)

    It’s like a crossover between Tam Lin and Beauty and the Beast. And it may be more similar to the plot of some other folk or fairy tale I don’t know or remember… So, basically, in the part of Tam Lin where Tam Lin gets transformed into a bunch of different things, generally wild and/or dangerous/harmful, that lasts a really long time. Janet (for our immediate purposes, although I don’t think I’d want the characters in my story to actually be Janet and Tam Lin) has to live with him, and love him, when he’s a bear/lion/snake/fire/etc. For weeks or months at a time, and they have to negotiate all the different challenges.

    http://lonespark.dreamwidth.org/35011.html

  3. Lonespark October 2, 2013 at 2:24 pm

    …and now I’ve started it. I hope to have something to show y’all by Halloween.

  4. froborr October 2, 2013 at 8:27 pm

    Between a fairly nasty bout of depression late last week, which Art Night DC seems to have mostly eliminated but the U.S. Congress is trying to bring back, followed by discovering the hard way precisely what it was I ate a few weeks ago that triggered my digestive tract to go into full-on rebellion (butternut squash soup, alas), then getting furloughed off work because of the government shutdown, and finally the fact that we are having a week in the 80s in October, I have been completely miserable and incapable of writing anything. Even My Little Po-Mo, which I had managed to maintain for over a year without ever being more than 12 hours late, is now four days late and headed into a fifth. =(

  5. Lonespark October 3, 2013 at 4:48 am

    Illness is totally an excuse, Froborr. Be good to yourself.

    …and yeah, it seems like we should be able to send all our medical bills this week to Ted Cruz.

  6. elliemurasaki October 3, 2013 at 3:37 pm

    I have a short story due in two weeks for my fiction writing course.

    I have no ideas that are not novels.

Leave a Reply

