I am sick

I am sick, everything I’m involved in (decon roundup, weekend post) is being pushed back 24 hours as a result.  Talk amoungst yourselves.

I’ll give you a topic.

As storytelling has progressed styles have generally swung on a pendulum from unrealistic in one way, to realistic, to unrealistic in the opposite way, and back again.  (I.e. Doom and gloom –> realism –> ice cream and lollipops –> realism –> GRIMDARK –> so on.)

What, if anything, do you prefer?

-chris the cynic

6 thoughts on “I am sick

  1. ZMiles October 18, 2013 at 7:19 pm

    I like all sorts of things. Right now, my tastes are swinging back towards light-hearted comedy (I’ve been reading some lighter works of Scalzi and Gaiman), but generally I do prefer a darker and more serious story, albeit one with strong doses of humor to keep things from being a grim slog.

    Dresden Files and Kitty Norville series, for example. Both of those take place in pretty dark universes, but both have snarky characters and a fair amount of humor mixed in with the apocalyptic horrors, so it works.

  2. depizan October 19, 2013 at 1:09 am

    For me, it depends (within a rather narrow range) on what sort of fiction we’re talking about.

    If the fiction is meant to be set on Earth, I want all aspects better than reality (examples of this are pretty much ’80s adventure TV, particularly Simon and Simon, and Agatha Christie’s The Secret Adversary and Partners in Crime) – not only are the stories on the fluffier end of crime solving, but bad things rarely happen to good people, and the world is just a smidge improved from reality.

    If we’re talking space adventure, I seem to have a strange preference for a realistic to slightly dark world* that operates by the tropes of adventure fiction, has a basically optimistic story, preferably about people having fun, and ends somewhere in the happy to adventurously ever after range.

    *but without prejudice involving real groups – speciesism doesn’t bother me, but non-fantastic racism and sexism are likely to make me toss the story aside

    Fantasy…while I still list it among things I like, I’m not at all sure that I still like much fantasy beyond some Discworld and some Diana Wynne Jones books.

    A am also – as I think I’ve mentioned before – famous (infamous?) among my friends as the person for whom Janet Evanovitch is too dark and gritty.

  3. froborr October 19, 2013 at 8:15 am

    Get well soon!

    I think all fiction is completely unrealistic, because in fiction things have meaning and inherent purpose and stories end with some of the characters still alive and stuff like Chekhov’s Gun applies. Fiction works like the insides of our heads, not the outsides.

    As far as the grimdarkfluffy scale, I like a pretty wide range, but dislike the extremes of either. Happy endings should be earned, and stuff like Warhammer 40K or 90s superhero comics hold no interest for me.

  4. Lonespark October 19, 2013 at 4:53 pm

    But I like GRIMDARK LOLLIPOPS.

    Actually I don’t know what that would be, really, but I tend to like elements of different traditions coming together…

    Isabel Cooper’s No Proper Lady is kinda Dark Fluffy Blood-Soaked Lollipop Demons With Bonus Sexytimes, which is definitely a thing I dig.

  5. Firedrake October 20, 2013 at 12:23 pm

    Hope you are less sick soon.

    My preferred style varies with my whim, but I’m generally in the same camp as froborr. I like to alternate books from a dark series with books from a light one.

  6. Lonespark October 20, 2013 at 5:05 pm

    I usually agree with Froborr about…stuff, and this is no exception. I don’t usually alternate dark and light books; I have one or more of each strategically stashed in bathrooms, cars, etc. Along with magazines about Heathenism and science and…stuff.

    I guess I like things that combine dark and fluffy, and I also like complex-but-not-that-dark canon where you can concentrate on the grimdark or the fluffy happy lollipops and anything in between depending on your mood. Works that are sort of theoretically geared to kids is good for this.

    TV and moviewise Avatar, the Last Airbender, BBC Robin Hood, and Xena (at least in the first few seasons, which were all I watched…) fit that. And Start Trek generally does, too…Lord of the Rings and The Hobbit, too… and the mythology books I read to my kids…

Leave a Reply

