I know I said things would only be pushed back 24 hours…

But I’m pushing the weekend post back another 24 hours.  So if anyone has any last minute submissions, the deadline is now Monday at 8PM (US Eastern time).

On the upside we have an article that’s written and ready to go up and stuff, I think it just needs a title, so there’s that to look forward to.  In the meantime, talk amoungst yourselves, but this time make up your own topic.

-chris the cynic

——

Also, I’m mostly better and when I get sick it tends to be more the type of thing that prevents you from doing stuff via brain fogginess/death not excessive pain and suffering.  But thanks everyone for caring.

9 thoughts on “I know I said things would only be pushed back 24 hours…

  1. depizan October 20, 2013 at 9:44 pm

    Take the time you need. Brain fog is plenty bad enough.

  2. Lonespark October 21, 2013 at 4:27 am

    Isn’t it? Especially because College.

    And now I am reminded of Joe Versus the Volcano…”[Chris] has a… Brain Cloud.”

    (Did I do that right? Chris isn’t in the original quote…did my punctuation imply that she was?)

  3. Brin October 21, 2013 at 9:55 am

    May the brain fog blow away soon.

    Lonespark: Chris isn’t in the original quote…did my punctuation imply that she was?

    1: Square brackets is indeed the standard way of indicating such a change, as far as I’m aware.

    2: I should probably just mark Chris’s femininity in my mental file as “confirmed” rather than “suspected”, shouldn’t I? The first time could’ve been a typo, the second could’ve been polyamory (no name, just Lonespark referencing having a girlfriend), but this is three times now.

  4. Firedrake October 21, 2013 at 10:29 am

    I try not to think of people I know primarily on-line as gendered beings. It helps me not make assumptions about them.

  5. Lonespark October 21, 2013 at 10:57 am

    On a semi-related note…

    I didn’t agree to give up “man” as a gender-neutral word for “person,” and it is a change I DO NOT WANT. (I realize it is much too late to protest…)

    When we play soccer, “man on/two men on/etc,” is much easier and quicker to yell than “woman” or “player.” Seconds count! But it’s an all-woman team. (Actually it seems like “guy” is a gender-neutral word in a lot of cases, but it wouldn’t work well here, I don’t think. Also I call everyone “dude,” but I don’t know what that means.)

  6. Brin October 21, 2013 at 12:34 pm

    Firedrake: I try not to think of people I know primarily on-line as gendered beings.

    I figure that while gender identity per se is not my business to pry into, pronouns and the like are worth knowing. (Admittedly, there are probably clearer ways of expressing that then my previous comment.)

    Lonespark: When we play soccer, “man on/two men on/etc,” is much easier and quicker to yell than “woman” or “player.”

    One on/two on/etc, with “players” implied by context?
    (I don’t know, I don’t speak soccer.)

    Also I call everyone “dude,” but I don’t know what that means.

    I tend to use “Dude!” as an interjection, similar to “Wow!” but specifically for when a person (as opposed to, say, nature) is being amazing. I am slightly worried about interference from masculine-dude and dude-meaning-noob, but I do it anyway.

  7. Lonespark October 21, 2013 at 12:55 pm

    Well, it’s “(there is a) man on (you)” when someone you may not be able to see is coming at you to take the ball. I guess just the number would make sense. It’s almost always one…

  8. Lonespark October 21, 2013 at 1:04 pm

    And yeah, knowing people’s preferred pronouns helps you be polite, although if they change their preference and don’t announce it, you’d certainly be forgiven for not catching on immediately.

    I do often try to use “they” or “zie” for people whose preferred pronouns I don’t know… I think I understand what Firedrake means, too; I tend to think of people I know exclusively online as a combination of their most common avatar/icon(s) and their writing “voice.” That doesn’t necessarily add up to a being with gender or size/shape or ethnicity or anything along those lines, although for some people those identity characteristics can be a big part of what they write about, or prominent in their avatar…

  9. Firedrake October 21, 2013 at 1:36 pm

    If I think of a person as male, female, black, white, whatever — particularly if not male/white/English — I tend to build up a set of assumptions based on my own cultural conditioning which may well not be valid. It seems to work better if I don’t have the information.

    I have surprised a couple of transwomen (whom I knew pre-transition) by not being pruriently curious: I’m not planning to try to sleep with X (X is a good friend but I don’t feel that way about her, and I’m married anyway), so X’s sex life and the sort of people X chooses to sleep with are not even slightly my business, and really I’m not terribly interested. Apparently this is not the usual attitude.

Leave a Reply

