Writer Workshop

(Posted by chris the cynic)

Those of you who also frequent Ana Mardoll’s Ramblings will find this somewhat familiar.  Here, as there, it was requested that there be a regular post to talk about writing projects (and other artwork-creation). Thus this post exists.

Pencil by Elisa Xyz

What are you working on? How are you feeling about it? What thoughts and/or snippets would you like to share? How does your activism work into your art? What tropes are you hoping to employ and/or avoid? Are there any questions you’d like to ask or frustrations you’d like to vent?  Writing workshop below!

2 thoughts on “Writer Workshop

  1. christhecynic October 24, 2013 at 10:32 am

    Usually these are immediately popular threads, wonder why this one doesn’t seem to be.

    Anyway, I was working forever on this recap of what I’ve covered in .hack//sign so far and finally got it done, and I did this thing on the Serpent scene in The Voyage of the Dawn Treader as a follow up to Gila’s tackling of the same scene.

    But in general, which is to say, basically, outside of Narnia, have been on a fairly prolonged dryspell.

  2. ZMiles October 26, 2013 at 8:22 pm

    I didn’t say anything because I didn’t get nearly as much writing done as I wanted.

    I finished the 2500 word story and sent in a query letter about it, since that anthology required queries before submitting a story. It got rejected earlier today. And I ran into trouble with my chirality story (idea wound up not working with the theme) and my cyborg story (can’t get the text to come out right).

    8000-word cyborg story is due 10/31 and 5000-word chirality story has a soft deadline of 11/1 (may be pushed back if they haven’t filled the anthology). Cyborg anthology already has at least 17 accepted authors, including some fairly large names (Elizabeth Bear, famous novelist, and Ken Liu, who just won a huge award for ‘best short story of the year’), so that one’s probably out of reach at this point. I’m going to see if I can get at least one more submission, though.

    Next month will hopefully be a little easier. I’ll have two anthologies on my radar: Crossed Genres (1000-6000 words, theme: conspiracy, http://crossedgenres.com/submissions/magazine/, deadline: Nov. 31) and Lethe Press (2500-12,500 words, themes: lesbian protagonist & “mad science”, http://lethepressbooks.com/call_for_submissions.htm, deadline: Jan. 31). So I’ll try to fire off submissions on those lines. Maybe also edit some short stories I wrote a while ago and need to get back to.

    Oh, and I kind of have a PhD to propose for. Busy month. But if I get it, I’ll be ABD at last. Yay!

Leave a Reply

