Writer Workshop

(Posted by chris the cynic)

Those of you who also frequent Ana Mardoll’s Ramblings will find this somewhat familiar.  Here, as there, it was requested that there be a regular post to talk about writing projects (and other artwork-creation). Thus this post exists.

Pencil by Elisa Xyz

What are you working on? How are you feeling about it? What thoughts and/or snippets would you like to share? How does your activism work into your art? What tropes are you hoping to employ and/or avoid? Are there any questions you’d like to ask or frustrations you’d like to vent?  Writing workshop below!

2 thoughts on “Writer Workshop

  1. elliemurasaki November 7, 2013 at 10:14 am

    Gooood morning Slacktiverse! I slept thirteen hours and have five more days of freedom from work to look forward to and I have lots of energy! What do I want to work on?

    I need to do a bunch of homework, of course, which includes a short story (selkie comes to Ren Faire, meets dryad who practically lives at Ren Faire, and they fall in love tra la la oops what happens when selkie has to go back to the ocean?) and a flash fic (subject undetermined, I haven’t looked at the prompt yet).

    And I have to write Yuletide (details not forthcoming, Yuletide’s an anonymous fic exchange, but I’m really excited about it).

    I can’t write pt_lightning yet, I barely know Giselle and I don’t know Ondine at all and I don’t want to just jump into a femslashy Swan Lake retelling without getting to know the other canons my podficcer suggested, but if I go to the library today I can get a DVD copy of Giselle. Think I’ll do that actually. Need to stop by the credit union anyhow.

    And then I have fifty million short stories (this is probably not much of an exaggeration) and several novels I want to work on. I’ve been plotting book four of Blow That Trumpet Gabriel (Sarah Laughed), when I really ought to be writing book one (Leah Far-Sighted).

    (Yes, my NaNo project is ‘rebel’, why do you ask?)

  2. depizan November 7, 2013 at 4:17 pm

    I’m pleased that I finally got my characters off the damn roof. (Writer’s block, it’s fun. No, not fun, the other thing.)

    Though that’s not much of accomplishment compared to all you’ve got going on, Ellie!

Leave a Reply

