These two weeks in the Slacktiverse November 9th, 2013

(posted and compiled by chris the cynic, written by members of The Slacktiverse)

The Blogaround

Silver Tyger wrote:

I did some rambling worldbuilding for my conculture the Nyjichun. (CN: funeral practices, extreme body modifications, racism of fantasy culture, specifically, mention of child theft). I updated one of my old entries (CN: character death, fictional terrorism, mental ableism). I put up another vignette from the Puzzle-verse. (I’m not sure what the CN should be, if anything. Possibly disabilities?)

chris the cynic wrote:

A welfare envy meme was making the rounds and that spawned two posts from me.  The first is that I will gladly take someone’s long hours and low pay and whatnot and give them my welfare money provided they take my disabilities with it.  The second was noting a certain past culture saying, “That person has it way better than me, tax them more instead,” left that person with two options: agree and be taxed more, or disagree and trade assets with the person who said they had it better.  Also in politics I noted the silly claims and extreme funding disparity surrounding the issue of tar sands in my home’s port.

On the Twilight front I wrote Snarky Twilight for Edward and Bella talking about jealousy, followed up on someone wondering how vampire super senses might screw up their enjoyment of modern media, gave several possible interpretations of the very bad line, “I may not be human, but I am a man,” and had a short story where Charlie tried to negotiate Bella’s dowry while Bella took the opportunity to run away (er, drive away) with her true love to get married.

And three more posts with no common theme:

  1. The cutest thing you’ve heard since the last time you heard a cute thing – what it sounds like.
  2. .hack//Sign: Sora’s Plan – My first regular .hack post in ages.
  3. There are two posts at my site that might make a good post here.  What I need is advice on how best to combine the two, more concrete examples, input on what worked and what didn’t, any ideas on what can be emphasized and what dropped, and all of that sort of stuff.  So, please, you know, help.

In Case You Missed This

Firedrake wrote:
Map of the best and worse countries in which to live as an expatriate
Apparently it’s great to live as a foreigner in China, OK in the USA, not so great in Europe. I suspect they haven’t taken account of whether one’s appearance matches that of the majority of the locals.

(Trigger warning for rape)
Firedrake informed us:
Police rape man in New Mexico under the guise of repeated “cavity searches”.  Link one.  Link two.  Link three.

Silver Tyger wrote:
Also, there were a couple of things on the Comic Book Legal Defense Fund blog that I thought people might want to see:(linking to the full article that CBLDF excerpted from)
Interview: Freed Chinese cartoonist refuses to be cowed by Internet crackdown
(CN: censorship, detainment, death)School Threatens Expulsion of 8-Year-Old Arizona Boy Over Drawings
(CN: violent imagery in children’s writing)
There might be some more people would like, but those were the two that jumped out at me.

Brin wrote:
Your dose of science: dogs’ tail-wagging means different things depending on whether it leans towards the left or right.

Things You Can Do

For everyone concerned about the goings on in Texas, Ana Mardoll fowarded us information about a public poll showing the gap in the race between Wendy Davis and Greg Abbot as low as it’s ever been.  Good news if you support Wendy Davis.  Any such poll is accompanied by two types of fundraising letters.  One from the campaign losing it’s lead begging for money so they can stay in the lead, one from the one closing the gap so they can take the lead.  Ana forwarded us the second one.  If you support Wendy Davis and what she stands for you can donate here.

–Co-authored by the Slacktiverse Community

4 thoughts on “These two weeks in the Slacktiverse November 9th, 2013

  1. Brin November 9, 2013 at 9:50 pm

    TW: rape, non-sexual assault

    Police rape man in New Mexico

    You know, I hadn’t thought about it like that. I’d forgotten to take into account that the anus is commonly considered an erogenous zone. I’d been thinking of the New Mexico assault as (im)morally equivalent to shoving probes down his throat, but no, there’s even more wrongness to it.

  2. froborr November 12, 2013 at 8:19 am

    Uh, did you not get my submission?

  3. chris the cynic November 12, 2013 at 5:35 pm

    @froborr

    For a moment it looked like something more complicated was going on, but it turns out I just messed up. The group account is at gmail, gmail threads messages, your submission (assuming it’s the one I think you’re talking about) was message three in a thread of six and though I saw it when it first came in I didn’t do anything because I planned to just grab it like the rest when I compiled the post. But when I compiled the post I didn’t notice it since it was hidden in a thread.

    I’ll do the standard thing with it. Add it in a revision now and then include it in the next post too. (Remember when we always seemed to have things appearing as “Last week…”? That was generally due to scheduling conflicts but the same principle applies.)

  4. froborr November 13, 2013 at 12:02 pm

    Thanks chris!

Leave a Reply

