Writer Workshop

(Posted by chris the cynic)

Those of you who also frequent Ana Mardoll’s Ramblings will find this somewhat familiar.  Here, as there, it was requested that there be a regular post to talk about writing projects (and other artwork-creation). Thus this post exists.

Pencil by Elisa Xyz

What are you working on? How are you feeling about it? What thoughts and/or snippets would you like to share? How does your activism work into your art? What tropes are you hoping to employ and/or avoid? Are there any questions you’d like to ask or frustrations you’d like to vent?  Writing workshop below!

7 thoughts on “Writer Workshop

  1. Silver Tyger (@SilvercatTyger) November 13, 2013 at 3:05 pm

    No comments yet? Pshwa.

    I’m loving the stuff I’m working on for Nanowrimo. I may be able to finish one of the stories this weekend (unless I end up working on one of the other ones). I’m hoping other people think it’s as cool as I do.

  2. depizan November 13, 2013 at 7:55 pm

    I wrote some drabbles for tumblr today. First time I’ve tried writing just scenes or super short fic like that. Maybe I’ll get some work done on the story I’ve been working on forever, too. (Hell, one of the drabbles might yet be a scene from that story.)

    But at least I wrote _something_.

  3. chris the cynic November 13, 2013 at 8:03 pm

    Of course I totally meant to Nanowri[alphabet soup]mo this year, but I never did get started and the days, they kept on passing.

    My idea was to do the story in the style of a history textbook (Modern Galactic History) where the wars and the recreating of lost civilizations based on recovered genetics and scant records was all in the past, covered quickly in the first chapter, and the bulk of the text would be devoted to the travails of peace time pluralistic existence in a galaxy where technology has sort of plateaued, no one is really sure what to do now, and most of the species are struggling for self identity.

    Struggling for self identity because in spite of all the time that’s passed since their civilization was resurrected they’ve still got only scraps of their own history to go on and have the cultural weirdification that goes on when the entire first generation was raised by a different species that couldn’t speak all the sounds in their language, had their own culture that they lived by even as they tried to teach said first generation its own culture to the best of their knowledge, and whatnot.

    (Basic premise, the race that had been dominant in the galaxy exterminated any other civilization as soon as they noticed them, when they were finally beaten the ones who did so attempted to reverse the damage the exterminators had done by resurrecting the exterminated civilizations, but while resurrecting the population was simple enough, it then had to be raised and there were no natives to do it. And the people doing the raising knew the culture they were trying to raise the population via archaeology and a few scattered surviving records, which is to say not particularly well.)

  4. elliemurasaki November 14, 2013 at 10:20 am

    I wrote a Swan Lake poem for pt_lightning! I’m excited to see what my podficcing partner does with it.

  5. elliemurasaki November 17, 2013 at 4:03 pm

    Tonight’s NaNoWriMo’s Night of Writing Dangerously. Let’s see how much novel progress I can make! Though first I really ought to finish my last homework assignment of the week and start on this coming week’s assignments so I can get ahead so I can work overtime this week…

  6. elliemurasaki November 18, 2013 at 10:32 am

    Five thousand three hundred thirty-three words yesterday. Mostly thanks to NoWD. Only seventeen hundred of them are useful for the novel, but that’s seventeen hundred more than I had this time yesterday.

  7. depizan November 18, 2013 at 11:12 pm

    Yay! \o/

Leave a Reply

