Writer Workshop

(Posted by chris the cynic)

Those of you who also frequent Ana Mardoll’s Ramblings will find this somewhat familiar.  Here, as there, it was requested that there be a regular post to talk about writing projects (and other artwork-creation). Thus this post exists.

Pencil by Elisa Xyz

What are you working on? How are you feeling about it? What thoughts and/or snippets would you like to share? How does your activism work into your art? What tropes are you hoping to employ and/or avoid? Are there any questions you’d like to ask or frustrations you’d like to vent?  Writing workshop below!

8 thoughts on “Writer Workshop

  1. froborr November 27, 2013 at 9:30 am

    One piece of good news: by my calculations, I have officially broken even on the My Little Po-Mo book! Hopefully being posted on Equestria Daily (the largest MLP fan site) last night will get me some sales as well, and I’ll make an actual profit!

    Anyway, I am, as usual, full of ideas, but at least one is actually already mostly done, so something might actually happen?

    First is the already mostly-completed one, which is to take my longest-ever blog post (17,000 words on the use of real-world alchemical imagery and concepts in specific episodes of Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood), add actual episode synopses and cites, pay my editor for a quick proofread, and publish it as a short $2 or $3 e-book.

    The other came to me last night, and my current moody, impulsive state makes it innately suspect, but I’ll toss it out there: an autobiography told in the form of what cartoons I was watching at the time. Young childhood and He-Man/She-Ra; Ducktales, my parents’ bankruptcy, and losing our house; Animaniacs, Pinkie and the Brain, and my first real friends; Batman: The Animated Series and my father’s death; The Slayers and first love; Neon Genesis Evangelion and finally realizing I belong in the humanities, not science; eventually down to the present day, with Adventure Time, my embrace of postmodernism, MLP, and my attempts to finally learn how that whole “social life” thing works.

  2. elliemurasaki November 27, 2013 at 1:01 pm

    Yay good news, Froborr!

    I wouldn’t buy that FMA ebook, since I don’t watch FMA, but it sounds intriguing and I bet people who do watch FMA would snap it up.

    Not sure what to think about the second idea.

    As for my projects: eighteen thousand words between me and winning NaNo, three days and a couple hours (since I have to work tonight) to write them in. And Creative Commons finally got back to me: their advice is to talk to a lawyer. I may just hand-format the damn ebook and convert to all the things with Calibre and get a website and release the ebook for free and subtly add a Paypal button to the download-links page.

  3. Lonespark November 27, 2013 at 3:46 pm

    I published a Slacktiverse post!

    Hmmmm. I like the comics autobiography idea, but I don’t know how it would work out and what copyright issues you’d be up against.

  4. froborr November 27, 2013 at 5:02 pm

    I imagine the copyright issues would be the same as for My Little Po-Mo, which is to say, make sure I stay within the bounds of review/scholarly discussion, and don’t include any pictures unless they are pertinent to the text.

  5. Lonespark November 27, 2013 at 6:01 pm

    Ok, yeah. From the way you talked about it, I was thinking there would be pictures.

  6. elliemurasaki November 28, 2013 at 3:57 pm

    Ebook is all formatted and converted. All I need now is a website. Though Smashwords has the advantage of sending my ebook to all the major retailers, so I still might want to talk to Volunteer Lawyers for the Arts.

    Only 14321 words left between me and winning NaNo!

  7. elliemurasaki December 1, 2013 at 9:15 pm

    Oh yeah, I should tell y’all, too: WON NANO!

  8. depizan December 2, 2013 at 11:02 am

    Woot! \o/

Leave a Reply

