This week in the Slacktiverse, December 1st, 2013

(posted and compiled by chris the cynic, written by members of The Slacktiverse)

The Blogaround

Froborr wrote:

It’s been almost a month since I’ve submitted anything, and I’ve written quite a bit in that time.

First, as part of my Kickstarter I allowed people to commission me to write articles on why the My Little Pony character of their choice is “best pony.” The last such essay was on the character of Zecora the zebra shaman, whom I have written about before as a seriously problematic character with regard to issues of racism and tokenism. The resulting essay ended up a discussion of the tensions between avoiding tokenism and appropriation on the one hand, and the importance of representation on the other.

Second, I wrote a brief post about Arrested Development (which I’m watching for the first time) and the way in which it fuses a technique of modern TV drama with the dominant form of humor in recent animated sitcoms in Manatees with Memories.

In my longest post ever, Fullmetal Alchemy, I compiled all the posts I made to Mark Watches about the use of real-world alchemical concepts and symbols in Fullmetal Alchemist: Brotherhood.

I reviewed Philip Sandifer’s book A Golden Thread, a microhistory of Wonder Woman and its relationship with USian feminism.

And I wrote an essay about the Doctor Who 50th anniversary special and the My Little Pony 4th season premiere, which aired on the same day and had some surprising similarities.

chris the cynic wrote:

I wrote a fiction fragment in the continuity of the previous fragment: “If the heroes did their jobs (The Midas Pool, version 3).”  This time I wrote about how they would face the knowledge that an invisible enemy was taking up arms between them and their only means of leaving.

I have again run out of hope.

Since I was having trouble accomplishing anything myself I told my computer to combine a picture of Lonespark and me with a picture of the M15  globular cluster five times (each in a different way, of course) the name of the post was, “We are star stuff” and as one might expect it had five images in it.

On the Slacktiverse itself:

In Case You Missed This

Silver Tyger shared various links:

(CN: gender essentialism, mention of hate crimes) I haven’t watched the embedded video
He’s tough enough to be a Sissy in Wyoming – “Longtime cross-dresser Sissy Goodwin of Douglas, Wyo., has been anything but weak as he stands up to bigotry in the Cowboy State.”

Is Google Wrecking Our Memory?
Nope. It’s much, much weirder than that.

(CN: racism, discussion of gaslighting, ableism. I’d advise avoiding the comments)
Kanye West Knows You Think He Sounded Nuts on Kimmel

Things You Can Do

No submissions this week.

–Co-authored by the Slacktiverse Community

One thought on “This week in the Slacktiverse, December 1st, 2013

  1. Lonespark December 2, 2013 at 6:12 am

    The article about Kanye West and the plausible deniability of racism was excellent. Thanks for bringing it to our attention.

    And here is some related comedy by a handsome Australian fellow:

Leave a Reply

