This week in the Slacktiverse, December 16th, 2013

(posted and compiled by chris the cynic, written by members of The Slacktiverse)

Sorry this is late.

The Blogaround

TRiG wrote:

My links blog has been quiet for a while, but I actually posted a little this week.

I came across a rather nice, if somewhat simplistic, quote from Neil Gaiman about political correctness.
In Toastmasters, I’ve got to the stage where I’m reading stories, so I wrote about that and, as the story I read is published online, linked to it. I don’t think any trigger warnings apply to my post, but if you follow the link to the story it’s about alienation and violence.
And I rather liked the New Statesman’s profile of South Shields, which seems to be managing fairly well in the economic downturn of the north of England.
 
chris the cynic wrote:

The only thing I’ve put on my blog in the last week is “Snarky Twilight: Creativity, Trust, and … um… stuff” which is more of the beginning of Chapter 15 and more closely parallels the actual text than the previous bit.

The last two weeks, Storiteller has been reflecting on Christmas.  In Tis the Season for Family Traditions, she talks about the traditions her and her husband’s family celebrate for Christmas and how she feels a little deflated at the lack of them in her own household.  In A Child Shivers in the Cold, she reflects on how Advent celebrations often sanitize the idea of the baby Jesus and how that negatively affects how society and individuals view children and parenthood.

On the Slacktiverse itself:

In Case You Missed This

No submissions this week.

Things You Can Do

No submissions this week.

–Co-authored by the Slacktiverse Community

Leave a Reply

