This week in the Slacktiverse, December 16th, 2013

(posted and compiled by chris the cynic, written by members of The Slacktiverse)

The Blogaround

chris the cynic wrote:

 I ran out of heating oil, gave pointers on dealing with known liars, had the strangest conversation with the heating oil company, took pictures of what was going outside during this period, and finally got heat.

In response blanket claims about all poor people regarding twitter, phones, and internet access I wrote a post called, “On poverty, internet, and cell phones“.

And finally I asked for ideas for what I could do for fundraising.  I’d like to be able to say, “Donate to me and you’ll get something back,” but the something can’t be writing since I do, or fail to do, that regardless of money.

On the Slacktiverse itself:

In Case You Missed This

Firedrake wrote:

Changing pronouns in children’s stories:
Canadian anti-prostitution laws rejected by supreme court (Link One, Link Two)
On the basis that they do not merely regulate against nuisance, but prevent people engaged in a legal-but-risky activity from protecting themselves against those risks.

Who approved the use of torture by British agents and troops? It’s all being carefully buried.

Things You Can Do

No submissions this week.

–Co-authored by the Slacktiverse Community

6 thoughts on “This week in the Slacktiverse, December 16th, 2013

  1. storiteller December 23, 2013 at 11:05 am

    The Canadian case troubles me because besides specific places of prostitution, it also legalizes street solicitation. I like the fact that now prostitutes can call the police for help if they need it, but I don’t see how you could possibly regulate street solicitation to make it safer as a practice. It just seems ripe for abuse without a good way to control it. Even Amsterdam doesn’t allow that for a reason. Hopefully, the fact that the court didn’t just wholesale determine that it was legal, but is forcing the lawmakers to go back and fix the law will lead to a thoughtful approach towards it.

  2. Firedrake December 23, 2013 at 11:27 am

    Yeah, as I understand it the court has said to the government “you can’t keep this current set of laws, so you’ve got a year to write a new lot”.

  3. froborr December 24, 2013 at 12:00 pm

    So, just an update on my situation:

    1) I’ve resumed therapy. Had my first session with the new therapist last night.

    2) My employers shuffled things so that no one is getting laid off after all. Two people are being shifted to another department, and I’m taking over the work one of them is leaving behind.

    Things have returned to my usual baseline of functional depression.

    Also my ex-fiancée/roommate got a scholarship to the second-best art school in America and is therefore moving to Chicago in a couple of weeks, so I’m going to have privacy again. Downside means that it will now be entirely possible (indeed, likely) for me to go days at a stretch without actually having an in-person conversation with another human being.

  4. Lonespark December 24, 2013 at 2:39 pm

    Therapy, yay.
    No layoffs super yay.
    And yay for her. That is awesome.

    On the human contact front, does the phone help? Or are there other friends or associates you can check in with? Any room to add a new hobby meetup thing, or rotating invitation or something? (Teleportation technology will make this crap so much easier. I will totally come down and take you out for coffee and AtLA disucssion (or whatever, but that was great) once they get the bugs worked out of molecule-scrambling.)

  5. Firedrake December 24, 2013 at 4:58 pm

    froborr, hurrah, particularly on the domestic front; I realise it’s not an unmixed blessing but the current situation seems to have been doing you a power of no good.

  6. storiteller December 29, 2013 at 9:22 pm

    Hey, Froborr, remember that I’m in the area. I’m back at work and not available after work (baby bedtime), but I may be able to meet up for lunch or something on weekends. And I’m really hoping to set up a one-shot Doctor Who game in the next month or two.

Leave a Reply

