This week in the Slacktiverse, December 28th, 2013

(posted and compiled by chris the cynic, written by members of The Slacktiverse)

The Blogaround

Froborr wrote:
Another almost-a-month, another update on what I’ve written since last time.

I wrote about the problems with excessive, pedantic insistence on continuity and the “secondary creation” approach to fiction in Continuity Poison.

I wrote two reviews of the third Madoka Magica movie: Spoiler-Free Review: Madoka Magica 3: Rebellion, and Spoiler-Filled Review: Madoka Magica 3: Rebellion, the latter of which is already the second-most-read post on my blog.

I asked whether a particular moment in Disney’s Frozen was an instance of Male Gaze or an empowering moment of a character claiming her sexuality in Is Elsa Too Sexy?

And most recently, I discussed a common question I get with How to Be a Jewish Atheist.

chris the cynic wrote:

I did an image post showing my progressing in shoveling after a storm.  You may find it incredibly boring as it’s just repeated pictures of my house and the sidewalk in front with commentary.  On the other hand if you’re not familiar with “I started shoveling and seven days later I had a sidewalk again” weather it might interest you.

I did a post of music related to the season, almost all Christmas songs, some irreverent, embedded as youtube videos in the post.  I highly recommend that anyone who hasn’t heard Tom Lehrer’s “A Christmas Carol” give it a listen.  (It attempts to capture “the true spirit of Christmas as we celebrate it in the United States, that is to say the commercial spirit.”)  Whether you listen to that or not I encourage everyone to share seasonally related songs they consider worthy of interest in the comments to the post.

And finally I posted a story idea, with some dialogue, in which it’s decided the modern America is lacking in trickster gods so human Americans are chosen to be elevated to minor-godhood as tricksters.  Each human is under the apprenticeship (for a given value of the word) of a trickster god whose people they descend from but whose religion they do not follow.  For example, token white guy is chosen by Loki, he qualifies as someone Loki can choose because he has Norse ancestry but is not a Norse Pagan.  (American Norse Pagans already have Loki, they don’t need a new trickster.)

On the Slacktiverse itself:

In Case You Missed This

Firedrake wrote:

Why marketers fear the female geek
Seems to be a decent summary of the ideas in several unrelated posts I’ve read recently: how an anti-woman culture of advertising can grow up without anyone particularly deciding women are a bad thing.

Things You Can Do

No submissions this week.

–Co-authored by the Slacktiverse Community

One thought on “This week in the Slacktiverse, December 28th, 2013

  1. storiteller December 29, 2013 at 9:19 pm

    Blarg, I actually did write this week! I’ll send it to you for next week.

Leave a Reply

