This week in the Slacktiverse, January 25th, 2014

(posted and compiled by chris the cynic, written by members of The Slacktiverse)

The Blogaround

Coleslaw wrote:

It’s been so long since I sent links that I’m not sure where I left off, so I’ll start with the most current and go backwards:

Attica Locke, this year’s winner of the Ernest J Gaines award began her speech by saying she was going to be Real, and I believe she was. My sister posted an old picture of me and my dad on Facebook, commenting that “You were the Apple of his eye.” An online friend referred to my buying spree at the mall, triggered in part by my being annoyed at my husband, as The Mad Dash. I took issue with another online comment that “No good story ever started with ‘I’ll have the salad’.” (BTW, at least one of those posts has a link to something called “The OT”, so I’m giving a content warning. The tiger droppings off topic board, the OT, is the home to a lot of racism and sexism, and even thread titles can be triggering sometimes. So why do I read and post there? After the last presidential election I became aware that I do the same thing that I accuse other people of different political and social views of doing – surrounding myself with people who think the same as me. I’m trying to branch out, but I’m not brave enough for the Politics board.)
 
Just because, I posted Penguin Pictures.

I may have linked to these two before, but in case I didn’t, there’s also an account of my son’s Thanksgiving Homecoming  and some reflections on my adventures volunteering at a food pantry, or as I call it with a sarcastic jab at nineteenth century piety, Doing Good Works Among the Poor.

chris the cynic wrote:

Another winter storm gave me cause to share pictures of snow on trees.  I sort of needed to vent about money so first I made a post about getting the bill from university, actually that was second but nevermind first, third I gave a more clear explanation of what the present situation is.

And then there was a short bit where Lucy of Narnia fame met Snarky Bella.

The fact that that’s all I have to share kind of drives home how little I did this week.  Though I did write an article here and I’ve got four things lined up for next week already.

On the Slacktiverse itself:

In Case You Missed This

Firedrake wrote:

Short hair on women
The article takes a lot of words to say “there are lots of men who
regard long hair on women as terribly important”, but some of them are
good ones.

Things You Can Do

No submissions this week.

–Co-authored by the Slacktiverse Community

2 thoughts on “This week in the Slacktiverse, January 25th, 2014

  1. storiteller January 25, 2014 at 7:48 pm

    Erf, good thing I checked. I was just about to send you my entry for this week.

  2. christhecynic January 25, 2014 at 8:00 pm

    You can still send it, I’ve kept mmy’s policy from Typepad: if an entry does come in late it gets edited onto the post and then tacked onto the next post after all the then-current things as, “Last week…”

    It came up a lot more there because there was a bigger diversity of time zones in those who submitted so some people simply couldn’t get things in on time.

    That said, it’s unlikely you’ll read this and send in an email before I’m offline for the night so it wouldn’t be edited in until tomorrow, and if you want to just have a bigger post next week by combining what you have now with what you will have then, that’s fine.

    Everything since you last submitted is fair game, after all. So if you don’t submit this week everything you would have submitted this week can be included in next week’s submission.

Leave a Reply

