Writer Workshop

(Posted by chris the cynic)

Those of you who also frequent Ana Mardoll’s Ramblings will find this somewhat familiar.  Here, as there, it was requested that there be a regular post to talk about writing projects (and other artwork-creation). Thus this post exists.

Pencil by Elisa Xyz

What are you working on? How are you feeling about it? What thoughts and/or snippets would you like to share? How does your activism work into your art? What tropes are you hoping to employ and/or avoid? Are there any questions you’d like to ask or frustrations you’d like to vent?  Writing workshop below!

10 thoughts on “Writer Workshop

  1. alexseanchai February 5, 2014 at 10:20 am

    QUEER_BIGBANG LOOKS LIKE A GO

    Yu-Gi-Oh! story in which Yuugi’s a cis girl (canon Yuugi’s a cis boy) and Yami Yuugi (who canonically time-shares a body with Yuugi and also is a cis boy) figures out she’s a trans woman. y/n?

  2. christhecynic February 5, 2014 at 10:58 am

    I’m not sure what you’re asking. Are you asking if you should write it?

  3. alexseanchai February 5, 2014 at 1:18 pm

    More ‘whether it’s a good idea’. Though I did think about asking ‘y/y/hfy’ instead.

  4. Lonespark February 5, 2014 at 1:31 pm

    hfy is my favorite answer, but I don’t know this canon at all. Most times it depends.

  5. Lonespark February 5, 2014 at 1:35 pm

    Also I think I’m going to start claiming reviews and comments here. Because I’ve never been a prolific creator of fanworks or blog posts or whatever, but I am a voracious consumer. So I am going to try to respond to the ones that are excellent, because I know a lot of work went into them. And maybe put recs on my Dreamwidth?

    So I have read and commented on several long Les Miserables fics. I am trying to do comments for each chapter on AO3. Unfortunately some are only posted on LJ, which keeps eating my profound thoughts.

  6. christhecynic February 5, 2014 at 2:27 pm

    Totally unfamiliar with the source material beyond the name, but my understanding of your version:

    Assigned at birth boy spends a certain amount of the time in a cis girl’s body. Assigned at birth boy comes to realize she is a transgirl through this time in the cis girl’s body.

    Seems like a fine story to write.

  7. froborr February 5, 2014 at 7:42 pm

    I am currently at LOC researching for my article on the episode of MLP that just straight-up triggers me, which I’ve been avoiding working on for the better part of a month. Unsurprisingly, doing this research is triggery.

  8. alexseanchai February 5, 2014 at 11:45 pm

    chris: that’s basically the size of it, yes. Also, yay!

    Froborr: that sucks massively. Hugs?

  9. froborr February 6, 2014 at 9:16 am

    Thanks. Feel a bit better this morning, mostly just tired and bleh… but I have to go back to the library tonight and finish the research. I’ll make it through, but then I have to actually rewatch the episode, and then write about it… blargh.

  10. froborr February 6, 2014 at 1:18 pm

    Not as better as I thought I was. Nearly had a panic attack when I was in line to pay for lunch and I heard someone laugh. I hate this so much.

Leave a Reply

