Open Thread: Celebration!

(by Silver Adept)

Yesterday in the United States, large amounts of people wore various shades of green, some tasteful, some garish, festooned themselves with shamrocks, and drank beer of a different color, while forgetting the titular Saint they were supposed to be venerating. Much like other holidays here in the States, the religious aspects are usually stripped away in favor of a much more secular (and, ymmv, lowbrow) celebration of something.

What holidays have suffered this treatment where you are? Are there any other holidays you’re looking forward to, religious or no?

As with all open threads, a prompt is just a prompt. Feel free to fill the space with whatever is important to you or what you want to talk about.

9 thoughts on “Open Thread: Celebration!

  1. lonespark42 March 19, 2014 at 4:43 am

    I am vaguely a St. Paddy’s Day Scrooge, because growing up being not Irish, and NOT EVEN CATHOLIC in a Catholic town in a Catholic state made me a bit grumpy.

    But I am all in favor of holidays, and food, and holidays with food. My parents took me out for “Irish breakfast” at a Tavern near Fanueil Hall. Eggs! And potatoes! And tomatoes and…ham(?) and sausages and puddings, which I liked very much. And hard cider. Hey, it was brunch… Oh, The Black Rose, that was the place…

    And then my mom cooked corned beef with various delicious underground vegetables and a cabbage last night, and my kids talked her into making cupcakes, and my son left one out to see if a leperachaun would eat it… I have no idea how he wants this experiment to turn out…

  2. froborr March 19, 2014 at 7:29 am

    Is THAT why the downstairsium had corned beef and cabbage and Irish chicken stew yesterday? It was pretty good, but they don’t have any good mustard, which is the difference between good corned beef and cabbage, and excellent corned beef and cabbage.

    Passover’s in a few weeks. I’ve written at length about my secularized version of that. Not sure what I’m going to be doing this year. I really don’t want to go to my sister’s, she has an incredible talent for turning things that should be simple into ridiculously complex logistical nightmares, but I’m not sure there’s anywhere else for me to go and I can’t very well roast lamb for one. I suppose I could have them over to my place, but… ehhh. I’m generally reluctant to have people over to Chez Shitpile.

    The Americanized holiday that pisses me off is Hannukah, which has been inflated from something you vaguely remember you were supposed to do a week after it’s over into Jewish Christmas. Which, given how much I hate Christmas and appreciate that, as a Jew, I get to opt out of it, the creation of a Jewish version really ticks me off.

  3. lonespark42 March 19, 2014 at 7:55 am

    she has an incredible talent for turning things that should be simple into ridiculously complex logistical nightmares

    Are you sure we’re not related? (But it’s my dad and his siblings who do this.)

    You may have stated them elsewhere, and I’ve forgotten, but what are your feelings on Purim?

  4. froborr March 19, 2014 at 10:21 am

    I don’t think I’ve stated them, since I don’t think I’ve really thought about them? It’s in kind of the same tier of holidays as Hannukah for me, and since it’s *not* subject to Christmas’ ongoing war of conquest against the rest of the year, I actually do generally forget about it until it’s already happened.

    But I guess if I had to have feelings about it, I’d say that it’s basically a tamer version of Halloween with decent-but-not-great cookies in place of candy, and the candy is the only part of Halloween that does anything for me to begin with, so…

  5. Timothy (TRiG) March 20, 2014 at 5:19 am

    Apparently corned beef is an Irish American thing. It’s certainly not an Irish thing. Cabbage should be eaten with boiled bacon. Everyone knows that. (I think the corned beef was a substitute when bacon was expensive in America?)

    I watched the parade in town for the third time ever, then went for a long walk.

    TRiG.

  6. Firedrake March 20, 2014 at 7:54 am

    Valentine’s Day, aka “if you are not part of a couple you are a LOSER day”.

    Actually pretty much any holiday where my local pub has a special promotion for it.

    But it’s a really good pub.

  7. lonespark42 March 20, 2014 at 8:44 am

    Yeah, defnitely and (Irish) American thing. I learned about the history of corned beef in the U.S. once, but I don’t remember any details.

  8. lonespark42 March 20, 2014 at 8:48 am

    I haven’t had good Valentine’s Day-related experience as part of a couple, except this year, sort of, but not on the actual day… My mom loves all holidays and her favorite celebrations are chocolate-related, so she always got us cards and candy and it has become Goofy Cards and Unusual Chocolate Day, sometimes celebrated the day after because schedules or sale prices.

    Do we have any holidays that are supposed to be about single people or possible new relationships? That seems like a good thing for a culture to have.

  9. froborr March 20, 2014 at 11:07 am

    A holiday for friendship seems like a better idea still. We have plenty of couples and plenty of single people, but not enough friends in this culture.

Leave a Reply

