Open Thread: Topsy-Turvey Day

(By Silver Adept)

Hah! It’s the April Fool’s Day Open Thread, two days late! What a joke, right?

So, on Tuesday last, a lot of people in the U.S. were either the perpetrators or recipients of hopefully harmless pranks and jokes to each other. Google added Pokemon to Maps, Craig Ferguson and Drew Carrey switched shows, and many other bits went out over the wires.

Myself, I managed to avoid being pranked, but I think that was due to my explicitly stating that I can be a right cranky obscenity when I get pranked, due to bad experiences with pranks in my past involving cruel children. Perhaps because of that, I don’t see the humor in April Fool’s Day.

If it were something more like Topsy-Turvey Day, where the lowest gain power for a day and he most powerful are stripped of it, I think I could get behind it more.

What about you? Any particularly good gags you received or perpetrated? Are you over here with me in the cranky corner? Woukd you prefer to have a day where the janitor runs the company?

And as always, open threads are unconstrained by topic or prompt. They can be all things to all people, whenever you need them to be.

4 thoughts on “Open Thread: Topsy-Turvey Day

  1. depizan April 3, 2014 at 6:10 pm

    The college my dad works at did a silly video for April Fool’s Day.

    I think I’d like April Fool’s Day better if it was just about silliness, not fooling people.

  2. storiteller April 3, 2014 at 8:46 pm

    I heard about two harmless but kind of funny pranks, although neither of them were on me. I work with another office across the country and apparently at the office, someone put a sign on the copier saying that it now had a voice-activation feature. Apparently quite a few people tried to yell at the copier in hopes that it would actually do something! (There are often people yelling at the copiers or printers in my office, but for rather different reasons.) The other one was that our public affairs folks sent my friend back a press release in Slovenian. He was quite confused at first, but thought it was cute after they explained it.

    Generally, I prefer the Google and ThinkGeek (http://www.thinkgeek.com/april-fools-2014/?icpg=Carousel_MissedAprilFools_2) type of “pranks” that are pretty obvious but cute and funny. What I like best about the ThinkGeek ones is the fact that they’ve actually gone back and created some of the things they first had as April Fool’s Day jokes. Namely the Star Wars Tauntaun sleeping bag: http://www.thinkgeek.com/product/bb2e/?pfm=looflirpaRecap_TurnedReal_3_bb2e.

  3. Lonespark April 4, 2014 at 4:26 am

    Dachsunds are adorable, if not flightworthy:

  4. Lonespark April 4, 2014 at 4:27 am

    Tje same might be said for baby owls, although they are cute in a fierce way:

    http://imgfave.com/view/1863303

Leave a Reply

