Writer Workshop for May 14th, 2014

(Posted by chris the cynic)

Those of you who also frequent Ana Mardoll’s Ramblings will find this somewhat familiar.  Here, as there, it was requested that there be a regular post to talk about writing projects (and other artwork-creation). Thus this post exists.

Pencil by Elisa Xyz

What are you working on? How are you feeling about it? What thoughts and/or snippets would you like to share? How does your activism work into your art? What tropes are you hoping to employ and/or avoid? Are there any questions you’d like to ask or frustrations you’d like to vent?  Writing workshop below!

2 thoughts on “Writer Workshop for May 14th, 2014

  1. alexseanchai May 14, 2014 at 8:26 am

    Work, college, writing, sleep. Pick three. GAAAH.

    So, The Shining Ones is the trilogy I’m talking about on the history thread. Find a copy of “Abraham’s Daughter” by Arcade Fire (the song is on Youtube) and listen to that, with particular attention to the lyrics. Fascinating implications, huh?

    I’m also currently writing jukebox_fest (anon fic exchange, so can’t talk about it in identifiable terms), Night on Fic Mountain (ditto), and queer_bigbang. That last is going really. really. slowly, because I haven’t caught up on canon yet, or, uh, consumed any canon in the past…six weeks? I need to mainline the rest of my Fic Mountain canon to see if my fic idea is contradicted by any of canon and then write the idea (or come up with a better one), and I need to finish writing my jukebox story, and I need to get back to canon consumption for QBB. While somehow working my scheduled shift, sleeping enough, and not failing out of college.

  2. froborr May 14, 2014 at 9:41 am

    I have taken a break from The Dragons of Industry to spend a couple of weeks finishing off my long-fallow Lunaverse fic. I finished off a kind of meh chapter on Friday, an idea that sounded good but just didn’t work out as well as I’d hoped–namely, the sick magical creature the characters are carrying causes their personalities to start swapping around. Problem is, in practice that amounts to most of a chapter of me appearing to have forgotten how to write a consistent character, and then a reveal near the end.

    Anyway, now that that’s behind me I’m finally on to the first of the two chapters that make up the story’s climax, which is totally ripped off from an homage to my favorite part of Ian McDonald’s Desolation Road.

Leave a Reply

