Writer Workshop for June 18th, 2014

(Posted by chris the cynic)

Those of you who also frequent Ana Mardoll’s Ramblings will find this somewhat familiar.  Here, as there, it was requested that there be a regular post to talk about writing projects (and other artwork-creation). Thus this post exists.

Pencil by Elisa Xyz

What are you working on? How are you feeling about it? What thoughts and/or snippets would you like to share? How does your activism work into your art? What tropes are you hoping to employ and/or avoid? Are there any questions you’d like to ask or frustrations you’d like to vent?  Writing workshop below!

3 thoughts on “Writer Workshop for June 18th, 2014

  1. froborr June 18, 2014 at 2:55 pm

    Today I finished a major blogging project, The Very Soil, my episode-by-episode analysis of Puella Magi Madoka Magica. It’s the biggest thing I’ve ever actually *finished.* It kind of hasn’t sunk in yet.

  2. depizan June 18, 2014 at 7:30 pm

    Finishing a project is something to celebrate. Congratulations!

    I’m happy I’m moving forward on the short story I’ve been working on for ages, though I’d be happier if I weren’t still moving at a snail’s pace. I keep reminding myself that it doesn’t have to be perfect, I just need to get down what happens and I can edit and revise as needed. But it’s still very slow going.

  3. Only Some Stardust June 20, 2014 at 1:45 pm

    I’ve been programming a game with Talking Animals who struggle with the sudden gift of sapience; I added the ability for herbivores to eat grass just the other day, and NPCs that can talk, so, making definite progress.

    I’ve been half thinking of adding a few cannibal talking beavers who sacrifice unwitting players to their lion god, or maybe who set you against a kindly witch, but I don’t think many people would get the joke. Also, I have no idea what animal would be perfect to represent the White Witch.

    Also wasted an hour fiddling with img css before I realized that the overflow for image sprites on img src is actually broken in browsers and that my code was flawless; thankfully, I just went back to the background-image div css sprites of before, but is quite annoying that I can’t tag my images with an actual image tag from a semantic point of view.

Leave a Reply

