This week in the Slacktiverse, October 11th 2014

(posted by chris the cynic, written by members of The Slacktiverse)

The Blogaround

  • Storiteller wrote about the everyday realities of living with a toddler this week, from sleep to play.  In Figment the Magic Sleep Dragon, she writes about when she was at her wits’ end, a special stuffed animal finally helped both her and her son get some sleep.  (Of course, as soon as she wrote that, her son decided that he didn’t want to go to sleep easily anymore.  Inevitable.)  In The Many Toys My Kid Loves to Play With, she talks about how her son loves to play with doors, dirt, blankets, the remote control, and lots of other household items that aren’t designed for small children.
  • chris the cynic wrote:
    • I finally made an index so that you can find all of the Narnia stuff I’ve written in one place.
    • The post, “Internet, the near future, and stuff about the blog.” was written at a bit of a low point.  It’s no secret that I’m sort of financially screwed, but when I wrote that post I was worried that it was leaving me with no internet, which turned out to not be true (mere coincidence), and I was nearly at the point of tears as I thought that I’d lose the ability to continue the blog.
    • Austeritas delenda est! Because austerity it bad and it’s killing my university.  If you’re interested in the details, read the post.
    • All that remains,” is an image post.  When I took the picture on Friday the third I thought it was just an oddity.  An artifact of the fact that if you leave something in the wrong place people will steal everything that isn’t welded on.  Three days later my university fired 50 faculty.  Profitable ones, no less.  Now I think it’s symbolic of the vision certain people have for my school.
    • On Thursday the 9th I made a speech.  I tried to record it but the file was somehow damaged.  I’m in the process of seeing if I can extract any good data.  I’ll make a post on it if I can.

In Case You Missed This

Firedrake writes:

A summary of a couple of evangelical Christian groups’ positions on
the environment. As always in history, both sides have built
theological justifications for what they wanted to argue anyway.
Humans, bah.

Things You Can Do

chris the cynic writes:

What’s going on at my university is complex and difficult.  Some of the stuff being done is illegal, but not illegal in the way that gets one prosecuted by a DA.  Instead those victimized will need to provide their own legal representation which isn’t cheap.  Apart from that, a lot of it is based on claims that are questionable at best and outright lies at worst.  A fund has been set up for the dual purposes of assisting victims attempting to get legal representation and determining the actual facts.  Send some money their way if it’s the sort of thing that interests you.

–Co-authored by the Slacktiverse Community

Leave a Reply

