This week in the Slacktiverse, October 26th 2014

(posted by chris the cynic, written by members of The Slacktiverse)

The Blogaround

  • Storiteller wrote an article for us this week (see below.)
  • chris the cynic wrote:
    • A prayer was answered, a prayer was answered by a woman who said god told her to do it.  Here’s the story of that, and me wondering how best to thank god.
    • I mentioned the possibility of making an, “All right, then, I’ll go to hell,” T-shirt.  People wanted it.  Other than CafePress not doing italics (thus “go” instead of “go“) it turned out fine.  So if you’re interested in such, here’s my post announcing that.
    • My financial situation, and the speed with which my mother, who owns the house I live in, switched gears from talking about that to talking about selling the house both led to me writing, quite honestly, “I’m afraid,” and giving details as to why.  I am significantly less afraid right now, though, but I have yet to write a post about that.
    • I wrote the my first installment of Skewed Slightly to the Left since January.  In it Cameron and Tsion make it to their getaway plane, barely.
    • Heavy rains and my status as a pedestrian left me cold and wet, so I wrote about it.
    • I wrote a bit about the state of my university.  That was written on, I think, Thursday or early Friday since then some pretty significant things have happened so expect to hear more about it.

In Case You Missed This

Nothing submitted this week.

Things You Can Do

chris the cynic wrote:

What’s going on at my university, the University of Southern Maine is problematic for a number of reasons.  Three primary ones are that it’s done using suspect numbers, rules are being bent and broken, and in some cases laws are being broken.  A fundraising is being done to address these by having an independent audit, investigate to bring accountability when it comes to following the rules, and provide students with access to the legal representation they’ll need to make sure that laws protecting them are enforced.

If any of that sounds good to you, or if you, you know, like me, consider sending money to this project if you can.

–Co-authored by the Slacktiverse Community

Leave a Reply

