This week in the Slacktiverse, Novemeber 2nd 2014

(posted by chris the cynic, written by members of The Slacktiverse)

The Blogaround

  • The last two weeks, Storiteller‘s family has been all about fall.  In An Autumn Extravaganza, she describes her family’s semi-successful trip to go pumpkin picking.  Just Shambling Along describes how she turned her son into a cute little undead being and they went on his first Zombie Walk.  In A Parent’s Guide to Monstrous Children, she runs down how each era of a children’s life matches up to a classic horror monster.
  • chris the cynic wrote:
    • In Personal Testimony I wrote about my experience with my university and why I care so much about it.  The topic of the goings on was continued in a post where I described being promised and then denied an interview by the PR guy.  I never did get around to talking about the Board of Trustees meeting.  Maybe I should just make a dump of Facebook posts and such regarding that.
    • Austerity seems to be destroying us, so I think it’s time we fight back.  Thus I took the entirely meaningless step of adding T-shirts, bags, bumper stickers, buttons, magnets, and such with the slogan “Austeritas Delenda Est” to the online store I have that never sells anything.
    • There was a paperwork problem that left me off my medication, which is in part where I didn’t get the regularly scheduled posts up this week and there was no open thread, but that is (hopefully) resolved.
    • I wrote the first, possibly only, fragment of a thing I’ve titled, “Economic Intrigue IN SPACE!” which was inspired by the idea of someone doing, basically, what’s being done to my university in a different setting with a less ideological endgame in mind.  (My university is a public university, thus government, thus killing it off is an ideological end in itself.)
    • The Harrowing of Helheim, which has spoilers for Thor 2, talks about an idea I had, and would like to see, while watching the movie.  I can’t go into much more detail than that without putting spoilers in the description.  It involves Loki and Frigga, which if you’ve seen the movie could give you some idea of what the post is about.

In Case You Missed This

Nothing submitted this week.

Things You Can Do

Frobbor writes:

I’ve launched a Patreon to try to support my next psychochronography/deconstruction project, The Near-Apocalypse of ’09, a multi-year study of the entire DC Animated Universe (1992-2006). Backers get early access to articles and assorted other goodies.

chris the cynic writes:

I’ve mentioned this before.  A lot of the problems at my university could be helped a lot by an independent audit, and a lot of the things being done are illegal but the sort of illegal that only gets punished if someone sues them.  Both of those things cost money, and there’s a fundraising campaign to get the money to pay for an audit and help victimized students pay for lawyers, which you can contribute to.

–Co-authored by the Slacktiverse Community

Leave a Reply

