Open Thread: The War is Over

(posted by chris the cynic)

I’m a bit late on putting up a post for the 11th hour of the 11th day of the 11th month, but at least I’m on the right day.  Anything you’d like to say about Armistice/Remembrance/Veterans/Polish-Indpendence Day?

Or anything falling on this day that doesn’t relate to WWI?

Or anything in general.

[As a reminder, open thread prompts are meant to inspire conversation, not stifle it. Have no fear of going off topic for there is no off topic here.]

2 thoughts on “Open Thread: The War is Over

  1. Brin November 11, 2014 at 8:34 pm

    I…kind of wrote a thing about Remembrance Day and immigrant experiences? (Well, one immigrant’s experience.) It is not really a long or formal thing (though it is fully punctuated and capitalised, which makes it pretty formal by Tumblr standards), but it is a thing, and you might find it interesting.

    I didn’t think to mention it in the post, but I also began observing a minute of silence at 11 AM on Remembrance Day after adjusting to Canadian culture. I wasn’t going to speak between 11:00 and 11:01 this morning anyway, but I paused in the blog post I was reading and spent a minute contemplating the horrors of war instead. It seemed the thing to do.

  2. Firedrake November 12, 2014 at 4:47 am

    Brin, indeed; I work on my own so wasn’t likely to speak anyway, but I think it’s a good thing to stop and think. (In the UK it’s a two minute silence at 11am, and I believe the TV and radio broadcasters respect it.) This year I didn’t make it to our local observance on Sunday, but generally I do; even as a non-religious person, I am willing to agree that (a) war is horrid for everyone involved and (b) it may nonetheless sometimes be necessary.

    I am a wargamer and I try to be ethical about it. There are some games where you’re expected to throw your forces at the enemy until one of you runs out; I don’t play that way. I always try to remember that the little metal toys represent real men who may be heroes or cowards, skivers or enthusiasts, but who all want to go home once the war is over.

    On a more political side, I detest the way “supporting the troops” has been coöpted to mean “supporting military adventurism by the leadership” – which is the exact opposite of doing good things for the actual soldiers.

Leave a Reply

