Writer Workshop January 14th, 2015

(Posted by chris the cynic)

Those of you who also frequent Ana Mardoll’s Ramblings will find this somewhat familiar.  Here, as there, it was requested that there be a regular post to talk about writing projects (and other artwork-creation). Thus this post exists.

Pencil by Elisa Xyz

What are you working on? How are you feeling about it? What thoughts and/or snippets would you like to share? How does your activism work into your art? What tropes are you hoping to employ and/or avoid? Are there any questions you’d like to ask or frustrations you’d like to vent?  Writing workshop below!

9 thoughts on “Writer Workshop January 14th, 2015

  1. christhecynic January 14, 2015 at 6:20 pm

    So there’s this interesting thing that happens when I’m having financial troubles. I don’t want every post on my blog to be, “I need money, I need money, I need money,” but the insecurity tends to make it hard to actually, you know, produce content.

    So in this present crisis I implemented a new approach. I decided that if I couldn’t make new stuff, I’d finally get around to posting old stuff written before Stealing Commas existed.

    Thus I have posted:
    More sympathy for the devil – Lucifer explains why he’ll fight the final battle even knowing he has no hope of winning.
    A no-kill Rapture – Say that, for whatever reason, having a Rapture was a good idea. This is one way I see an actually non-monstrous God doing it.
    A Light in the Darkness – An angel worthy of the position walks into the story of Left Behind.

    As I said, they’re all from before there was a Stealing Commas. One from 2009, two from 2010.

    I did write one original thing, I don’t even know how to classify it. It’s not fiction, per se, but it’s not non-fiction either. It definitely isn’t a story. It’s silliness. If that interests you, I give you “Word Problems

  2. alexseanchai January 14, 2015 at 11:40 pm

    chris, are your blog settings set up to refuse OpenID comments, is something actually wrong, or have you just not got around to letting me out of moderation on the nephilim posts? The latter is not a problem, but either of the former might be.

  3. christhecynic January 15, 2015 at 6:33 am

    Something is wrong.

    It is set up to accept everyone. If I were to make it one step more restrictive it should still accept OpenID. There is no moderation turned on, but there is the spamtrap. I just checked the spamtrap, your comments are not there.

    Thank you for bringing this to my attention.

    Unfortunately it’s just Blogger’s native comment engine so I can’t actually do anything to fix it. I can’t even do anything to find out what is wrong.

    If you remember what you said in the disappeared comments, I would very much like for you to repeat it.

  4. alexseanchai January 15, 2015 at 9:24 am

    I pretty much just squeeed over the nephilim stories (and your three posted above, too–not Word Problems, I couldn’t parse it) and inquired of Lonespark about this book of Lilith stories. *eyes most recent post* I shall post that comment anonymously, hold on…

  5. alexseanchai January 21, 2015 at 1:37 pm

    chris, looks like the anonymous comment I mentioned above hasn’t shown either. Again, if you haven’t got around to unspamtrapping it, not a problem, but if it’s supposed to have shown up by now…

    Looonespark! What is the book of Lilith stories you mentioned on that post of chris’s?

    And actually on topic for the post: I am now on Patreon! Also I wrote four poems in twelve hours, which is fantastic, and you can see one of those poems under ‘Creations’ on that Patreon page!

  6. christhecynic January 21, 2015 at 1:51 pm

    It is official: blogger hates you for reasons I do not comprehend. You are the only one (that I know of) who it is fucking up for in any way.

    I will glare at blogger, but there isn’t much else I can do. I really don’t like the idea of your posts disappearing into the aether never to be seen again, but I don’t know that I can do anything about it. I guess just post comments over here, inefficient and undesirable of a solution as that is.

  7. alexseanchai January 21, 2015 at 11:43 pm

    Feh. Thanks.

  8. Firedrake January 22, 2015 at 6:06 am

    alexseanchai, if you have any sort of privacy protection on your browser it’s very likely that blogspot is objecting to that. I have to use a completely separate browser instance, with all privacy enhancement turned off (and all data wiped after use), for commenting on Stealing Commas and a couple of other blogspot blogs; it’s some interaction of blogspot’s anti-spam settings and the browser’s loading of off-site resources. So that might be a thing worth trying.

  9. alexseanchai January 22, 2015 at 11:25 am

    …oooh, that might explain it. Gah.

Leave a Reply

