This week in the Slacktiverse, February 8th, 2015

(posted by chris the cynic, written by members of The Slacktiverse)

The Blogaround

  • Over the last few weeks, Storiteller has written about a breadth of topics, from children’s literature to learning to show grace to oneself.
    • In Book Club: Goodnight Moon – Absurdism for Toddlers, she describes how that classic piece of children’s literature is the perfect preparation for children to grow up to read Waiting for Godot.
    • In Play with Your Food! she talks about how her son’s toy kitchen not only allows him to play cook, but even allow her to teach him cooking skills.  Plus, a recipe for some delicious and sort-of healthy chocolate almond date balls.
    • Bedtime Stories for Grown-Ups talks about how Storiteller and her husband have been reading A Game of Thrones out loud to each other at night and what they’ve gained.
    • The Need and Grace of Toddlers starts with a complaint about the constant “Mamamamamama” of her son and evolves into a reflection on the constant neediness of life for everyone.
  • chris the cynic wrote:
    • As a sort of expansion of what I wrote last week, I wrote more about Lego and girls.  Specifically about how Legos advertising pretty much ensured that they were going to see a steady drop in female customers and how the questions they asked when they finally decided to address the drop led to the wrong answers (because they were the wrong questions.)
    • I wrote a snippet from a story based around a magic university setting (I’ve mentioned it in the past, but I think this is the first time I’ve had actual story written up) in which a character explains her take on ambition as a virtue.
    • The Resident Evil games, notably the early ones that I’ve actually played, tend to give me ideas.  Two things that came out of that this week were a couple of characters discussing why their seemingly unremarkable city has anti-terrorist units on the police force, and a mission briefing that gives you a pretty good overview of the setting and everything that is wonderfully absurd about it.
    • I had a post on things I would have liked to have seen in The Matrix.
    • Three posts about the weather and how it relates to my well-being.  The first was just pictures of the growing piles of snow and my attempts to shovel.  (With breaking shovels.)  The second was something that I’d alluded to before.  While the shoveling was, mercifully, done on a warm day, the initial snow brought with it extreme cold which was concerning given that my oil was low.  No heat was about the result of that.  I never did get the money to pay for heat but things happened so that a portion of the debt I have was transferred from being owed to entities that would never give me a break to family who are more flexible and thus I was able to pay the $500+ needed to get heat, just with the understanding that I’m not even with respect to that because even family expects to be paid back eventually.  This, as well as what it was like to be without heat for an extended periiod, was described in the post, “Heat.
    • Finally, if you want to know what what going on with me and my blog two years ago this month, the February 2013 index is now up.  Apparently I was then trying to get onto the public assistance I now fear getting kicked off of.  Also, there was a blizard then.  For all the recent snowstorms there have been in my area this year, none were blizzards.  (Blizzards require significant wind, you see.)

In Case You Missed This

  • [Editor’s note: as near as I can tell, this is still relevant three weeks later:]
    Alex Conall
    writes:

Things You Can Do

See above (In Case You Missed This) if you’re queer or trans*, otherwise no submissions this week.

–Co-authored by the Slacktiverse Community

2 thoughts on “This week in the Slacktiverse, February 8th, 2015

  1. Firedrake February 9, 2015 at 3:23 am

    Something I’ve only seen this morning, an LA Times op-ed: How secular family values stack up. Which has plenty of stroking for atheists, but as an atheist myself I have to say the logic is horrible. For example:

    “Atheists were almost absent from our prison population as of the late 1990s, comprising less than half of 1% of those behind bars, according to Federal Bureau of Prisons statistics.”

    Well, maybe atheism is already correlated with not being black and poor? Maybe when you’re in prison you’re more likely to turn to any sort of comfort you can get? And maybe you don’t want to stand out in a group of people not renowned for their tolerance of outsiders?

    “Secular adults are more likely [than religious ones] to understand and accept the science concerning global warming, and to support women’s equality and gay rights.”

    This is an American study, remember. Which means that “religious adults” includes a preponderance of people who’ve been told by their leaders (i.e. Fox News) that global warming doesn’t exist, and that the other things shouldn’t exist.

    I think what’s more significant about this article is not the horrible logic but the fact that a mainstream newspaper feels (a) it can publish an atheist-boosting article and (b) it still needs to reassure its readers that the atheists aren’t coming to eat their babies.

    Also, here’s a fairly thoughtful piece on the various Men’s Rights groups: The internet is full of men who hate feminism. Here’s what they’re like in person. The thing I really took away from it is the effect of unexamined privilege: well, that doesn’t happen to me, it can’t really be a problem.

  2. lonespark42 February 10, 2015 at 9:43 am

    Good yes. I was making those comments to my mostly-well-off white UU friends who kept passing that article around. (Favored) Religion can get you perks in prison, military, life in general, too…

    And they were confusing me conflating “people not identified with a particular religious denomination” with “people who don’t have spiritual or religious beliefs or practices.” Not the same at all.

Leave a Reply

