Writer Workshop June 17th, 2015

(Posted by chris the cynic)

Those of you who also frequent Ana Mardoll’s Ramblings will find this somewhat familiar.  Here, as there, it was requested that there be a regular post to talk about writing projects (and other artwork-creation). Thus this post exists.

Pencil by Elisa Xyz

What are you working on? How are you feeling about it? What thoughts and/or snippets would you like to share? How does your activism work into your art? What tropes are you hoping to employ and/or avoid? Are there any questions you’d like to ask or frustrations you’d like to vent?  Writing workshop below!

2 thoughts on “Writer Workshop June 17th, 2015

  1. froborr June 24, 2015 at 8:39 am

    I just found out the Oni Press open call for submissions ends THIS month, not next month, so I’m frantically trying to clear out everything else to make room to work on a pitch.

  2. depizan June 24, 2015 at 12:59 pm

    Writing video game fanfic has unusual built in difficulties. Specifically, that what an npc is like – or seems to be like – is somewhat dependent on your character’s interactions with them on your playthrough. Which means that different players may get very different ideas of what that npc is like.

    This is a problem when the npc in question is a companion character who happens to be Shrodinger’s Asshat. (I’d call him something stronger, but the images tend to go bad quickly.) He is, depending on your interactions, somewhere between a bit sexist and obnoxious, but not completely stuff out the air lock worthy, to holy fucking creepy emotionally abusive dickbag do not want stuff out the air lock stat. Complicating matters further, a section of the fandom sees him as sweet and charming and likable.

    Now that I’m aware of the dickbag version, I’m really sorry I ever included him in my fics. After some discussion with a tumblr friend, I don’t think I’m excusing or minimizing the horrible version by writing him as the kind of excitable young guy who mainly specializes in being wrong. And my plan was to show him slowly getting his head out of his ass. (He’s only a background/sidekick type character in my fics anyway.) Though I’m now fairly certain that’s deviating from canon him. (At least taking into consideration the creepy dickbag version, who apparently is completely incapable of acknowledging that a) the entire galaxy is not him and b) he can be wrong. )

    Urgh. Like I don’t struggle with writing enough.

    Why would you even write a love interest character that way, Bioware? WHY???

    Balancing out writing him so that the people who liked him wouldn’t throw things at me, but still somewhat acknowledging at least some of what bugged me about him in game was tough enough. Now I’ve got a third ball to juggle and it’s laced with poison. :\ I am not a pleased fanfic writer.

Leave a Reply

