These two weeks in the Slacktiverse, August 2nd, 2015

(posted by chris the cynic, who is sorry about not getting it up last week, again; written by members of The Slacktiverse)

The Blogaround

  • chris the cynic wrote:
    • After the topic of political correctness came up elsewhere I wrote about how I think the modern meaning of the term was best described by professional asshole and moral black hole Lee Atwater about ten years before the modern meaning came into existence.  I also used the post to talk in medium depth about what the term does and doesn’t mean.
    • I played a game called “Dishonored” and wrote a post describing my experience of playing it as a totally non-scientific case study in player morality and violence in videogames.
    • For the longest time I’ve been meaning to write about the movie The Scorpion King 3 because it’s inability to stick to a time or place goes beyond atrocious and attains extraordinary.  I had remembered it as a Roman commander hires an Egyptian king from before the pyramids to fight an evil Confederate in a place where there are Ninja, but going back and actually watching, it’s so much worse.  So I finally wrote the post on it.
    • When I remind people I have a donate button I like to do something so the post isn’t just about getting me money, thus I’ve been talking about the histories of our months.  Three months without the regularly scheduled post meant three months I hadn’t covered so I wrote a post covering the histories of May, June, and July.
    • I noticed that the probe we sent to Pluto finally made it there.  Sometimes there is good news.
    • The Jonathan Coulton song “The Princess Who Saved Herself” was adapted into a children’s book of the same name.  If you want a copy of the pretty damned awesome book you can buy it directly, but I bought a bunch in bulk and am thus able to sell them for 25% less than you’d pay if you bought direct.  I like the idea of being able to make money via means other than begging, and getting people a cool thing for less than they’d otherwise pay seemed like a potential win-win so I figured I’d give it a try.

In Case You Missed This

No submissions this week.

Things You Can Do

No submission this week.

–Co-authored by the Slacktiverse Community

One thought on “These two weeks in the Slacktiverse, August 2nd, 2015

  1. Only Some Stardust August 2, 2015 at 7:13 pm

    A new species, the golden wolf, has been discovered.

Leave a Reply

