Writer Workshop August 6th, 2015

(Posted by chris the cynic)

Those of you who also frequent Ana Mardoll’s Ramblings will find this somewhat familiar.  Here, as there, it was requested that there be a regular post to talk about writing projects (and other artwork-creation). Thus this post exists.

Pencil by Elisa Xyz

What are you working on? How are you feeling about it? What thoughts and/or snippets would you like to share? How does your activism work into your art? What tropes are you hoping to employ and/or avoid? Are there any questions you’d like to ask or frustrations you’d like to vent?  Writing workshop below!

2 thoughts on “Writer Workshop August 6th, 2015

  1. alexseanchai August 6, 2015 at 7:50 am

    I think I figured out how to edit this story that I’ve [thought I] had complete in draft since September! It does indeed involve starting with a new blank document, because the narrative starts so much earlier in the story, but. I can do this now!

  2. christhecynic August 6, 2015 at 11:23 am

    @ Alex

    Woo!

    I finally got around to writing and posting the 11th installment of Being more than a Simulacrum.

    From a getting stuff done perspective it’s overdue because the content was originally meant to be the second half of Part 10, which I posted about a month and a half ago.

    Thematically it’s important because it brings together Place, a literal copy of Kim, and her cousin Joss, whose only appearance on the show started with her trying to make herself into a Kim-copy (because of self esteem issues.)

    As for the actual content, I hope it’s passable.

    For over a year, at least, I’ve been wanting to make a post where I addressed a product of tendency (relatively recent as such things go, I think) I’ve noticed to try to cram way too much plot into a movie and thus end up with a muddled mess that tells none of the stories in it well.

    Various movies would have been good candidates, and several times I planned to use a specific movie and then never got around to writing the post. With Jurassic World I finally actually wrote a damned post on the thing.

    In one post I described the movie as it is, a mess of too much plot, none of it given the depth it deserves.

    In a second post I described what would happen if we tried to untangle it into stories where each plot had enough movie and each movie had enough plot. I ended up with a description of the seven movie series that Jurassic World tried to cram into one movie.

Leave a Reply

