Open Thread: Birthdays

(by chris the cynic)

I’ve done a crap job of putting up open threads lately, but this week was my birthday so I think that means all my sins are forgiven and I’ve leveled up.  Or some such.

Actually, in truth, I never really got the point of celebrating birthdays (beyond having one day a year that’s yours), always felt like any other day to me.  But, birthdays: any thoughts?  Good times?  Bad times?  Anything you’d like to share?

 

[As a reminder, open thread prompts are meant to inspire conversation, not stifle it. Have no fear of going off topic for there is no off topic here.]

3 thoughts on “Open Thread: Birthdays

  1. christhecynic August 8, 2015 at 9:44 am

    This year I was thinking about the strangeness of celebrating birthdays especially in my case since I slept through being born. My mom did all the work, I just took a nap. If we had an annual celebration of when I first started talking (I went from speaking no actual words directly to speaking in sentences, so presumably there is a single date) it would make more sense to me because it would be an annual celebration of me actually accomplishing something.

    Now I find myself in the middle of the celebration of a child’s birthday which is being spread out over three different days (I wasn’t here for the first one) so that all relevant family and friends can celebrate with him. The fact that none of those days are his actual birthday adds to my feeling that there’s nothing special about birthdays, we just randomly picked that as the milestone to have an annual celebration on (and to Hell with people whose birth crossed the midnight boundary. Also leap day births.)

    My birthday, in recent years, has been pretty bad. Last year, though, was definitely good, and this year was only a minor step down.

  2. froborr August 10, 2015 at 1:41 pm

    I just find birthdays annoying. I just don’t care, and I tell everyone not to bother with it, but every year certain family members and friends start making a fuss about it, forcing me to pretend I appreciate the fuss.

  3. Only Some Stardust August 10, 2015 at 9:24 pm

    For me, birthdays are when I get free stuff, and I get to choose my own poison/cake and form of celebration, like watching a movie or sleeping in and being a bum. Except as a reminder of one more year where you haven’t accomplished as much as you’d like, what’s not to like?

Leave a Reply

