Writer Workshop August 12th, 2015

(Posted by chris the cynic)

Those of you who also frequent Ana Mardoll’s Ramblings will find this somewhat familiar.  Here, as there, it was requested that there be a regular post to talk about writing projects (and other artwork-creation). Thus this post exists.

Pencil by Elisa Xyz

What are you working on? How are you feeling about it? What thoughts and/or snippets would you like to share? How does your activism work into your art? What tropes are you hoping to employ and/or avoid? Are there any questions you’d like to ask or frustrations you’d like to vent?  Writing workshop below!

6 thoughts on “Writer Workshop August 12th, 2015

  1. anamardoll August 12, 2015 at 10:09 am

    I’m doing well. Just finished chapter 14 of an estimated 25 total. I’m on a re-writing cycle, which is simultaneously frustrating (WHY IS BOOK NOT DONE?) and incredibly satisfying (omg chapter is so much BETTER now after re-writing).

    It’s funny, because my depression tends to make it really hard for me to promote my work because I see everything I do as shit, lol, so, like, Pulchritude will always be my first baby but it is an ugly baby I can’t bear to look at because I see all the flaws. But this one… I feel strangely good about this one. It’s not bad. It’s not high art, but it’s not bad.

    It’s a happy place to be.

  2. Firedrake August 12, 2015 at 10:29 am

    Current project has just entered peer review, and I have to decide which suggestions to bounce and which to incorporate. (Some are good but impractical. Some are not good. Some will make the book vastly better.)

  3. alexseanchai August 12, 2015 at 11:21 am

    I want to write fifty different things but I want to get “Inherit the Flame” rewritten so it’s actually GOOD but I want to write fifty different things that are not “Inherit the Flame”.

    *tears hair*

  4. christhecynic August 12, 2015 at 3:19 pm

    I’m thinking about writing id channeling low brow revenge driven fan fiction just because the genre is there and exploring what happens when characters are pushed out of their normal bounds is an alluring concept.

    Also, I’m wondering if an interesting story can be made of a character trying to stop (in this case herself) from crossing the line into monster even though her usual moral inhibitions are ground down the point that she can no longer feel why it matters and her drive to not cross that line isn’t enough to stop her from seeking retribution.

    I’ve been thinking about the idea for a while, and since Kim Possible is the fandom I’m in at the moment, that’s where the thoughts are.

    Actually I’ve already gotten about two pages of the story written out already, but I’m still not sure that it’s the best project to spend time on. “Id-channeling low-brow revenge-driven fan fiction” is hardly the most inspiring description.

  5. Only Some Stardust August 12, 2015 at 9:34 pm

    It could be interesting if you explored what other characters think of the revenge. This may involve painting the protagonist in a less than flattering light.

  6. christhecynic August 16, 2015 at 4:45 pm

    Finally got the first installment of id-fic written, I feel I’m not doing justice to the id-fic genre though. Too thinky.

    Anyway, first installment here. It’s way longer than I expected because I knew where I wanted first installment to begin, and I knew where I wanted first installment to end, but when I did the actual writing there turned out to be all this stuff between those two points.

Leave a Reply

