This week in the Slacktiverse, August 23rd, 2015

(posted by chris the cynic; written by members of The Slacktiverse)

The Blogaround

  • chris the cynic wrote:
    • I started on yet another Kim Possible fic.  Before posted the first installment I posted about why another one and why this type of one.  The idea is to do some id-channeling action genre actiony stuff where the main charater is pushed beyond normal limits, which is a bit of a departure for me.
    • Naturally, the first installment of Bent, Not Broken is the next thing I posted.  I’m pretty confident that you don’t need to know Kim Possible in order to follow it.  Already I think I’m failing at the id-channeling.  I feel like there’s too much think and not enough fight.  Which is not to say that I dislike what’s there; I actually like it a lot.
    • I realized that I never talked about a word I made up a while ago.  It was sort of an exercise in putting together as much ish-oid-y-esqueness into one word as possible.  What does it mean?  Not sure, but there is some discussion in the comments.
    • The song “Stand in the Rain” sets off my depression meter like whoa, so I wrote about looking at the song through the lens of having lived depression and, to an extent, having lived the song.  (Note that the song isn’t depressing, it just feels very depression themed.)
    • It started innocently enough with someone asking if I’d noticed whether or not my neighbors had gills and me responding that this is New England, we don’t do that sort of thing.  (Noticing, I mean.  No idea if people here have gills.)  Somehow it ended up in rhyming couplets.  So if you’d like to know about the New England mentality I was talking about, have a look.
    • Patents are made to expire.  A patent is a trade off, you get to have a monopoly on your invention enforced by the government, but in exchange you have to reveal exactly how it works to the general public and when the patent expires they can do whatever they want with it.  Thus innovation happens.  It’s why Velcro is everywhere: patent expired.  A lot of Lego’s patents have expired, but others are younger, and what I can’t seem to do is figure out how to learn which Lego stuff is fair game, and which is illegal to copy.  So I asked for help.

In Case You Missed This

No submissions this week.

Things You Can Do

No submissions this week.

–Co-authored by the Slacktiverse Community

Leave a Reply

