This week in the Slacktiverse, September 13th, 2015 (updated)

(posted by chris the cynic; written by members of The Slacktiverse)

The Blogaround

  • In Ridiculous Moments In Parenting: Last Week Edition, Storiteller describes a range of absurdity, from her kid mistaking a hat for cheese to an angry running tantrum.  In An Open Letter to Parenting Experts, she unleashes some of her frustration about highly questionable parenting advice from books and article.
  • chris the cynic wrote:
    • Star Wars Redux: No Jedi Truths is how I would do the conversation between Obi-Wan and Luke in Return of the Jedi.  For some background:
      • In Star Wars (the original one) Obi-Wan said that Vader betrayed and murdered Luke’s dad because, at the time, that was the plan: Obi-Wan had multiple students and the one named Vader killed the one named Skywalker.  That plan was changed, drastically, which led to “a certain point of view” and the entire concept of Jedi Truth.  My version attempts to reconcile what Obi-Wan originally said with the truth in a way that doesn’t leave him a liar who refuses to admit to his lies.
    • Also in derivative work I wrote part two of Bent, not Broken.  In it Kim starts to tell Chi about what happened to her.  Initially I thought that this would be the first of a rapid succession of such posts until we got through the story (which covers ten years so it’ll take a few installments) but I have been completely distracted by trying to write a Cinderella story that’s taking a lot longer than anticipated.
    • I did a post of music I’ve been listening to for various reasons.  All youtube videos so you can actually listen (and sometimes even look.)  Included in there is the complete 4 hour 20 minute concert that is The Last Waltz, which I really recommend.
    • A kerfuffle at Slacktivist led to me writing a post about what I consider the words sacred and sold to mean.  Talk of refugees at Slacktivist led to a post that I called, “I don’t think it’s too much to ask, so I don’t think it’s too much to give either,” which is about how I view the kinds of decisions involved on that topic and many other topics.
    • In terms of life I wrote “I swear this heat is trying to kill me” and also about how breaking my usual cup means I now overfill things leading to the excess soaking my hand, the floor, and sometimes my feet.
    • The Cinderella story is called Ash and I’m 25 pages in and yet still have not reached the parts that make it a Cinderella story.
  • Alex Seanchai wrote:
    [This] is poetry about the legend of Cadair Idris. I link to my poetry Patreon rather than directly to Sunbow Publications in hopes that people are willing and able to become my patrons. I also have a blogging-the-Delphic-Maxims Patreon if that floats anybody’s boat.

In Case You Missed This

No submissions this week.

Things You Can Do

No submissions this week.

–Co-authored by the Slacktiverse Community

One thought on “This week in the Slacktiverse, September 13th, 2015 (updated)

  1. alexseanchai September 13, 2015 at 6:12 am

    Interesting commentary on “sacred” and “sold [on]”. Re “sacred”, yeah, “off limits” is a good definition–“set apart” too. The nearest Latin is apparently money in escrow for a business deal. Not for everyday use. Whereas “sold” is definitely everyday!

Leave a Reply

