Open Thread: Plants

(by chris the cynic)

On a personal note, it’s good that I picked this topic because it led to me noticing that the pineapple stem I keep in an applesauce jar full of water was, in fact, in an applesauce jar completely devoid of water due to long neglect.  The stem is still alive, the jar is refilled.

But the prompt is plants in general, flowers, weeds, grass, maize, shrubs, redwoods, and so forth.  Any plant or plant related matter that you wish to talk about.

 

[As a reminder, open thread prompts are meant to inspire conversation, not stifle it. Have no fear of going off topic for there is no off topic here.]

8 thoughts on “Open Thread: Plants

  1. christhecynic September 15, 2015 at 10:00 am

    My primary spider plant recently died. At least twelve of its offspring carry on (though some likely won’t make it), several of them had to be removed from the dead plant so that they could be saved.

    It’s a bad feeling when something dies because you forgot to pay attention. But, as I said in the main post, the pineapple lives.

  2. froborr September 15, 2015 at 11:02 am

    I started watching Twin Peaks last night (a very bad move, because it one more episoded the fuck out of me and I didn’t go to bed until episode 6, by which time it was 5:30), so all I can think of is Douglas firs.

  3. alexseanchai September 15, 2015 at 12:56 pm

    I have a lucky bamboo at work and an ivy at home. I am trying not to kill them, because I like having green things around. I am not good at keeping plants alive.

  4. alexseanchai September 15, 2015 at 1:31 pm

    Huh. My bag contains a library books of miniature gardens. (Fairy gardens!) I’d half forgotten. *reads*

  5. lonespark42 September 15, 2015 at 2:08 pm

    Thrice-be-damned squirrels are killing my kids’ corn plants! At least they did get to grow a few wee baby corns, but dammit.

  6. Firedrake September 15, 2015 at 3:03 pm

    We have turned over our “lawn” to meadow plants. It’s much more interesting to look at than it was, still entirely possible to walk on, and I only have to cut it once or twice a year.

    Which I do with a scythe: it’s faster than the lawn-mower was, works on taller plants, and surrounds you with that fresh-cut vegetation smell.

  7. lonespark42 September 17, 2015 at 11:06 am

    Hmmm, I think we should do that for the little pieces of lawn, or which we have waaay too many.,.

    Also I want to try to grow blueberries and if that works, I want to replace the other hedges with them.

  8. froborr September 17, 2015 at 11:44 am

    That’s a good idea, lonespark! I have fond memories of raspberry hedges when I was a kid.

Leave a Reply

