Open Thread: Goals

(by chris the cynic)

I’m not sure I want to check when I last posted an open thread, it might be disheartening.  As always feel free to use this for anything, but to kick of the prompt, here’s a goal from me: get the Slacktiverse things I’m responsible for, like open threads, posted weekly according to the schedule.

[As a reminder, open thread prompts are meant to inspire conversation, not stifle it. Have no fear of going off topic for there is no off topic here.]

4 thoughts on “Open Thread: Goals

  1. christhecynic January 23, 2016 at 7:41 pm

    I swear a few days ago I was thinking about something that as a goal for the year that was totally unlike a new year’s resolution in that it was realistic as something that I, taking into account all of the downsides of me being me, could actually probably complete in a year. Don’t remember what it was.

    I’ve generally got more goals than I know what to do with, for example:
    Eat enough, drink enough, sleep enough, remember to take medication consistently, return to writing [Edith and Ben, The Princess Story, Skewed Slightly to the Left, Snarky Twilight, If The Heroes Did Their Jobs, My Zombie Apocalypse Team, The Band Story, things, stuff, things and stuff], don’t stall out on writing [whatever I’ve actually managed to do recently], return to deconstructing .hack//Sign and Deus Ex, don’t stall on deconstructing Kim Possible now that I just got restarted, clean my house, find a way to get a working washing machine without going broke, exercise more because I have become fat (not a problem) and weak (yes a problem), and a thousand other things.

  2. alexseanchai January 23, 2016 at 9:38 pm

    I also have more goals than I know what to do with. Eat better, exercise more, write more, pass all my freaking classes…I want that damn piece of paper says I’ve earned a bachelor’s degree. I don’t know why anymore, because it’s not like the paper is going to get me anything I don’t already have, but I want it.

    End of summer term. Or maybe end of fall term. As long as I pass everything between now and then.

  3. Firedrake January 24, 2016 at 5:53 am

    Current goal: finish some of my existing goals rather than starting new ones.

  4. WanderingUndine January 24, 2016 at 11:04 am

    Laugh at something that isn’t on the internet. Try dating. Share my poetry again. Apply for work I can do despite disabiliy-inflicted limits to what I can do and where I can live. See a species of animal I haven’t seen. This year, I would like to *get* a full-time job again, preferably in the nature eduation I love, experience romance and/or sex (in a good way), go somewhere coastal, and visit an ocean warm enough to be swum in by people who don’t think they’re seals as my Maine friends do. But I can’t *plan* to do those things.

Leave a Reply

