Writer Workshop March 30th, 2016

(Posted by chris the cynic)

Those of you who also frequent Ana Mardoll’s Ramblings will find this somewhat familiar.  Here, as there, it was requested that there be a regular post to talk about writing projects (and other artwork-creation). Thus this post exists.

Pencil by Elisa Xyz

What are you working on? How are you feeling about it? What thoughts and/or snippets would you like to share? How does your activism work into your art? What tropes are you hoping to employ and/or avoid? Are there any questions you’d like to ask or frustrations you’d like to vent?  Writing workshop below!

4 thoughts on “Writer Workshop March 30th, 2016

  1. depizan March 30, 2016 at 10:01 am

    As I noted in the last Writer’s Workshop, I finally finished the fic I was stuck on forever. And posted it.

    (Star Wars: The Old Republic fanfic. Contains some swearing and violence.)

    And now I’m trying to decide whether there needs to be a story, even a small one, between the one I just finished and the one I somewhat dread writing since it will involve one character having a super extra bad day. (Being discovered as a traitor to the Sith Empire will do that.)

  2. alexseanchai March 30, 2016 at 10:10 am

    Hurrah depizan!

    Camp NaNo starts Friday! I won’t be able to start writing the moment midnight strikes, because I will be leaving Thursday’s work shift then and then my sister and brother-in-law are coming over so he can reinstall fucking Windows on this fucking desktop. (Not a thing I am looking forward to, as you can surely tell.)

    I am really excited about the novella I’m going to be writing. Though I’m not quite sure when the point-of-view character and her love interest stopped being people of color. I mean, I can backfill my reasoning–I don’t want to fuck up and I think my earlier draft constituted a fuckup on account of lack of familiarity with the cultures from which the PoC versions of the characters sprang, familiarity which I have since made no real attempt to acquire–but, well. It shouldn’t be solely on PoC to write PoC representation, and now the only character I know for sure is PoC is the one I’ve fancast as Idris Elba.

    But yeah. Faerieland, here I come!

  3. christhecynic March 30, 2016 at 11:18 am

    I’m trying to work on more weighty things like getting the characters in Forgotten Seeds off the moon or trying to make my KP deconstruction of a weekly thing, but instead what I’ve done is write a short second installment of a fanfic challenge in which Ron and Shego (the good and evil sidekicks respectively) are fused into a single person.

    Fusion in the first installment.

    The second installment was basically me working to get to the point where the fused person has a name.

    I’m leaning heavily on bits of canon that show Ron is definitely not a gender conforming male.

    How hard am leaning on them? Enough to cast Ron as a trans woman who simply didn’t realize she was a she yet. I’ll probably never put it that way in the story, but it allows me to have the fused character be comfortable in her female body, and sure of her identity as a woman.

  4. depizan March 30, 2016 at 7:29 pm

    alexseanchai,

    Good luck on Camp NaNo!

    christhecynic,
    There are definitely bits of canon to lean on there. And, hey, writing is writing, even if it wasn’t what you’d planned to write. Nothing wrong with juggling another WIP.

Leave a Reply

