Writer Workshop May 11th, 2016

(Posted by chris the cynic)

Those of you who also frequent Ana Mardoll’s Ramblings will find this somewhat familiar.  Here, as there, it was requested that there be a regular post to talk about writing projects (and other artwork-creation). Thus this post exists.

Pencil by Elisa Xyz

What are you working on? How are you feeling about it? What thoughts and/or snippets would you like to share? How does your activism work into your art? What tropes are you hoping to employ and/or avoid? Are there any questions you’d like to ask or frustrations you’d like to vent?  Writing workshop below!

4 thoughts on “Writer Workshop May 11th, 2016

  1. christhecynic May 11, 2016 at 3:45 pm

    I’ve not been writing much. Well, not fiction. I did do this about my relationship to my body and the narrative that all trans individuals have dysphoria because they’re trapped in the wrong body.

    Want to know why I’m not getting fiction done even as the concussion is finally lifting?

    Graduating on Saturday. Two degrees. Just picked up cap and gown. There was an error with the cap and gown thing that put me into, “Did something go wrong? Am I not graduating?” panic. Apparently nothing went wrong in any of the places that mattered regarding whether I’d graduate, and all is well and the errors are fairly common since everything gets entered manually and blah.

    So, anyway, in the course of checking that shit didn’t go wrong I noticed something that did go wrong. The name that it says will be on my diploma: Christopher Paul Witham.

    I’ve given a lot of thought to my name. I can live with a male middle name. I was named after someone named Paul (my parents didn’t have a middle name picked out, he asked) and I don’t mind that being Paul and indeed would just feel weird if it were suddenly Paula. I am the person named after Paul. Paula was an entirely different figure in my childhood and young adult life.

    But I’m not fucking Christopher. In fact, I’ve never been Christopher. I have always, for my whole life, been Chris. So when it asked what name I wanted on my documentation I put fucking “Chris” with no “topher”. Not only do I not want a male first name, I’ve never actually had one except in the unreal world of documentation. Since this explicitly gave me a choice on what name to have, I wrote my real name: Chris.

    So I’ve just changed some things to correct that, but graduation is in three days so … yeah.

    And before all of this mess I had to get tickets otherwise dress code wouldn’t matter because I’d never be allowed into the building. And before that I had to come to terms with the fact that the class I was taking just so that I could end on a high note was a class I’m definitely going to fail. (No high note.)

    And before that, at peak concussion, I had to navigate the strange and convoluted waters of, “I’ve earned two degrees; give me two degrees.”

    Fuck last month and this month so far.

  2. depizan May 11, 2016 at 7:13 pm

    @christhecynic

    Congratulations on graduating!

    I hope they get the name thing fixed. 😦 Having the right name on things is very important. And if they ask you what you want, they should damn well get it right.

  3. depizan May 11, 2016 at 9:05 pm

    As far as writing goes, it’s a struggle. I know exactly how the story I’m working on is supposed to go, but that doesn’t seem to make it easier to write. Part of it is feeling bad/guilty about the darker half of the story (one of the heroes spends a not insignificant portion of the story being tortured), part of it is not entirely trusting the clever rescue plan the other heroes will be using (things can’t be too easy or too implausible), and… I don’t know, I guess it all boils down to second guessing myself way more than I should. I’m not sure how to stop doing that. :\

  4. Firedrake May 12, 2016 at 3:28 am

    My new book is out. Go, litel boke, etc.

    Now considering what the next one will be about.

Leave a Reply

