This week in the Slacktiverse, May 25th, 2016

(posted by chris the cynic; written by members of The Slacktiverse)

The Blogaround

  • Storiteller had a couple of different themes on her blog over the last few weeks, from Earth Day to Bike Month.
  • chris the cynic wrote:
    • Given that I’m posting this on a Wednesday … yeah, still not exactly up to my usual, fairly low, standards.  On the other hand since I didn’t post it at all last week, there are a few things to say.
    • I wrote about my experience as a trans woman and how the narrative that trans people feel trapped in the wrong body really messed me up for a long time in a post called, “It’s not a cage or a prison; it’s my home.
    • Susan, and Lucy, ask Father Christmas, “What about Edmund?” at the distribution of gifts in The Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe.
    • I’ve talked for a long time about movies that stuck in too much plot (and so covered none of it in adequate depth) and one of my examples was often Captain America: The Winter Soldier.  I finally wrote a post where I tried to pull that tangled mass of too much plot apart.  I ended up with a sequence of nine movies and one tie-in TV series.  Though two of the movies are arguably me trying to fix problems that aren’t “They shoved in too much plot, along with the kitchen sink, when this should have been a full movie.”
    • That came about because I mentioned the overabundance of plot in the second Captain America movie when talking about the third one.  The previous is a preview post because I realized that I couldn’t fit everything I have to say into one post and thus there will be an entire series of posts on the movie, only the first –which is about how one side has all the morality and the other side has lots of “do not want”— has been written so far.
    • In my real life I have graduated from my university with two degrees, one in Classics and one in Mathematics.
    • I wrote an update on various things related to me and Stealing Commas.
    • I wrote, this time in a hopefully easy to follow format, what I can be nominated for, and how to nominate me for such things, in the annual Kim Possible “Fannies”, a largely meaningless fan-fiction community award thingy.
    • Insofar as I am aware of them, I like triple compound words in English.  The thing is, I’m not really aware of all that many and I don’t know how to look them up.  So, please, whosever is reading this and knows some triple compounds, click over and share some.

In Case You Missed This

No submissions this week.

Things You Can Do

No submissions this week.

–Co-authored by the Slacktiverse Community

Leave a Reply

