Writer Workshop June 15th, 2016

(Posted by chris the cynic; sorry it’s late)

Those of you who also frequent Ana Mardoll’s Ramblings will find this somewhat familiar.  Here, as there, it was requested that there be a regular post to talk about writing projects (and other artwork-creation). Thus this post exists.

Pencil by Elisa Xyz

What are you working on? How are you feeling about it? What thoughts and/or snippets would you like to share? How does your activism work into your art? What tropes are you hoping to employ and/or avoid? Are there any questions you’d like to ask or frustrations you’d like to vent?  Writing workshop below!

2 thoughts on “Writer Workshop June 15th, 2016

  1. christhecynic June 15, 2016 at 6:52 am

    I was in a frozen yogurt place, orange leaf, looking at signs of reality that you wouldn’t likely see in video games.

    As I walked home that sort of morphed into two people talking about whether their world could be a computer simulation. On the same walk I also came up with how the simulation originated.

    An origin that, I think, is significantly less fucked up than:
    1 Human beings in tanks while their minds are living in a shared dreamworld based on the 20th/201st century turn
    2 ???fusion-handwave???
    3 POWER!

    Thus I now have another setting I don’t really know if I’ll follow up on: The Simulation.

    If I do I want to have a thing be:

    “Why is it so damned important that the simulation reflect the real world?”
    “It isn’t, the laws of physics are just an easy go to for sufficiently complex rules.”
    “Sufficiently complex?”
    “If the rules are too simple then people figure them out with ease and in a few generations you have a simulation full of min-maxers. That never turns out well.” *pause* “Trust me.”

  2. alexseanchai June 15, 2016 at 11:27 am

    I have a story I want to write. I have to do a lot of research. I don’t want to do the research. Therefore, I don’t want to write the story.

    …I have pushing 1500 words of notes on this story I’m not writing and I don’t even know how the quest plot in the portal fantasy part of the setting goes.

Leave a Reply

